Win for Springwell’s Gillian Wasson at Cookstown five-mile Classic which boasted a record field

A record field took part in Sperrin Harries Cookstown 5 Mile Classic on Friday evening.

Conditions for the race were good as the runners set off from Loughery College to complete a 5 mile loop on the undulating roads around the college. Joe McAllister, winner of last week’s NFU Mutual 5 Mile, led the field home in 24:53. Springwell’s Gillian Wasson was in fine form as she won the ladies race in a PB time of 31:03. She, along with Linda Gillen and Caroline Irwin won the ladies team prize. Hugh Boyle won the MO60 age category and Linda Gillen finished second in the FO35 age category.

Springwell Results: Stephen Joyce 28:25, Jason McLeister 28:49, Gillian Wasson 31:03 (1st FO, PB), Hugh Boyle 31:36 (1st M)60), Andrew Downey 32:18, Leslie Ashe 32:33, Linda Gillen 35:05 (2nd FO35), Caroline Irwin 35:20, Johnny Goldie 35:24, Scott Bell 36:24 (PB), Robert Workman 36:33, Mervyn Thompson 36:46, Karen McLaughlin 37:29, Alison McAllister 38:13 (PB), Sarah Chestnutt 40:27, Lynn Montgomery 40:29, Brenda Boyle 40:30, Rebecca Clarke 42:58 (PB), Caroline Taylor 46:45, Kenny Bacon 47:23, Fiona Walls 48:49, Dianne Hutchinson 50:29 and Marlene King 53:18.

Thanks to Sperrin Harriers for a well organised race and an excellent supper after the race.

Springwell’s Alistair Shaw finished third at the Falls Parkrun on Saturday completing the 5K course in 19:35.