Vote now for the Irish Motorcyclist of the Year

Michael Dunlop is one of the nominees for the Irish Motorcyclist of the Year
Michael Dunlop is one of the nominees for the Irish Motorcyclist of the Year

Voting has opened for the Cornmarket Irish Motorcyclist of the Year, and the winner will be presented with the unique Joey Dunlop Trophy at the sell-out Cornmarket Motorbike Awards on Friday 29th January. 

20 competitors from various disciplines of the sport have been nominated for the prestigious award in association with the Enkalon club. The winner will be decided by a special online public vote which can be accessed at:

Runaway favourite to be named the best rider in Ireland for 2015 is Jonathan Rea, who clinched the World Superbike Championship in record-breaking style. Rea follows in the famous footsteps of Ralph Bryans, Brian Reid, and Joey Dunlop to become just the fourth ever World Champion from Northern Ireland.

Among the other contenders are Josh Elliott, who was crowned the British Superstock Champion, North West 200 and Ulster Grand Prix winner Lee Johnson, Alastair Seeley who excelled on both the roads and short circuits, while last year’s young rider of the year Andy Reid secured his first ever victory in the British Supersport series.

There are three sets of brothers represented; Michael Laverty finished an excellent fourth in the prestigious British Superbike series, while Eugene Laverty enjoyed a debut season in MotoGP; Glenn Irwin produced some fine rides to finish fourth in the British Supersport series while brother Graeme was sixth in the British Motocross MX1 Championship; The Dunlop brothers William and Michael had much success on the roads.

The public vote can be accessed via any computer, ipad, iphone, android or mobile device, and will be overseen an expert panel of judges chaired by former British Champion Adrian Coates who expects a big vote. 

“Last year we had a massive vote topped by Michael Dunlop and this year we are preparing for even better. Voting is very easy, and we expect a big surge through social media once again. I would urge all bike fans to log on and register their vote for their favourite rider – as we whittle the final short list down to 6”

A dozen other awards will also be presented including road racer of the year, team of the year, short circuit rider of the year, hall of fame and race of year at what is an evening not to be missed. The event is sold out, but you can be placed on a waiting list by emailing, or phoning 07584058810

Details are also on Twitter @BikeAwards.