Victory for Cardwell in Irish Championship

Winners at Aghadowey Oval
Winners at Aghadowey Oval

Jonny Cardwell was the star man at Aghadowey Oval turning his pole position into a successive victory in the Stock Rods Irish Championship.

Shea Duff from Crumlin was crowned King of Aghadowey in the Junior Productions, whilst Trevor Cusack from Mallow in Co Cork took victory in the Classic Hot Rods. The young stars in the Junior Productions once again produced three exciting encounters in their King of Aghadowey event, with Shea Duff taking the King of Aghadowey crown.

The Irish Classic was won by English stars Hughie Weaver and the Classics really did entertain the punters, and there are high hopes for 2016 as the class seems set to attract even more new drivers.

There was another excellent turnout of 21 Thunder Rods which saw Joshua McMullan who cruised away from the front to record a handsome victory.

With the Irish Championship looming next weekend, the Superstox entry was perhaps lower than expected. Denver Grattan took the win, McArdle and Gilpin were good value in second and third.

Racing continues at Aghadowey Oval with the big Gala Night Fireworks Spectacular on Friday October 30th.

The fastest cars on the ovals, the National Hot Rods, will contest their latest World Championship qualifying round.