Springwell’s Gillian Wasson wins at Lurig Run

A record 254 runners competed in this year’s Lurig Run, which took place on Saturday as part of the Heart of the Glens Festival 2011. City of Derry’s, Alan Bogle led the field home in an impressive time of 29:34. Springwell’s Gillian Wasson who has been in fine form recently was the first female home in 37:40.

Springwell had five other runners competing. David Jackson 34:41, Colin Brennan 35:22, Chris Millar 36:16, Gerry O’Doherty 36:30 (1st MO55), and Mathew Hawthorne 49:12.

Springwell Junior Holly Clarke was a member of the Ulster team competing in the Celtic International Games at the Antrim Forum Track on Saturday.

Holly was a member of the Ulster Girls U18 100m relay team which finished 4th in 49.40. She also ran 13.67 in the Girls U18 invitation 100 metres.

It’s been a busy week for Springwell’s Alistair Shaw on Tuesday he took part in the Maidens of the Mourne 10K run which took place on Narrow Water Estate. Dusty trails and perfect weather greeted the competitors for the event. Alistair finished 18th in a time of 51:24. It was one of the toughest races he has ever run. Don Travers was first home in 42:52.

On Friday evening Alistair took part in the Cutters 10K run along the tow path from Cutters Wharf and Belvoir Forest Park. Alistair completed the 10K in 40:49.

Over 200 athletes descended on Loughry College, Cookstown on Friday 5 August for the 6th running of Sperrin Harrier’s Classic 5 Mile Road Race. The undulating course takes place on the roads around the College, these are challenging for the best of runners but despite this produced good times.

North Belfast pair Stephen Scullion 24:37 and Cathy McCourt 30:00 were the major prize winners. Springwell ladies picked up the Female Team prize.

Springwell were well represented with 22 runners in the field and came home with some age category prizes.

Stephen Joyce 29:00, Bryan Edgar 29:02 (PB 2nd MO45), Jim Breen 29:39 (1st MO55), Philip Mullan 29:53, Hugh Boyle 30:27 (2nd MO55), Gerry O’Doherty 31:10, Gerard Mullan 31:17, Gillian Wasson 31:20 (PB 1st FO35) Leslie Ashe 31:56, Robert Workman 35:08, Karen McLaughlin 35:33(2nd FO40), Jim Platt 37:46 (1st MO65), Betty Deighan 39:36, Davy Patterson 40:37 (PB), Brendan McLaughlin 40:44, Brenda Boyle 41:05, Debbie Tutty 45:01, Tom Grant 45:12, Rodney McMullan 45:49, Caroline Taylor 46:36, Kenny Bacon 47:06, and Valerie Coils 48:15 (PB).

Well done to Sperrin Harriers on an excellent race and the welcome cup of tea at the end which set the runners up for the journey home.