Springwell runners in action at the Seeley Cup

On another miserable weekend weatherwise, there were not a lot of Springwell members active with the main focus for runners being centred around the Seeley Cup in Belfast, organsied by Willowfield Harriers.

Seeley Cup 10k 2015

On Saturday 28th November 2015, a sell-out crowd of one thousand athletes descended on Ormeau Park, Belfast for the annual Seeley Cup 10k road race.

The popular race is seen by many as the road racing ‘season closer’ and despite losing its NI & Ulster Championship status, the event has never lost its prestige. In wet and windy conditions, the athletes set off on the lapped course, which starts on Ormeau Embankment and finishes in Ormeau Park. Springwell had only two runners out on the day with Neil Johnston, on a rare outing, having a great run, finishing 23rd overall in 33’ 54”. Our other representative was Gerry O’Doherty, who won the MV60 Age Group in a time of 40’ 10”, continuing his dominance in his Age Category this season.

On Sunday, two prodigious Springwell Marathon Runners were in action in the East Antrim Marathon Series, again in pretty dreadful weather conditions. While no official results are yet available, John Butcher completed his 21st marathon this year in 4:08 and Nigel McNeill his 24th in 4:35 approximately. A fantastic achievement by both guys. so well done!

Park Run News

The cool temperatures continued for the Portrush parkrun on Saturday. There was only one visitor, who was warmly welcomed. As it was the Movember parkrun, raising awareness for mens health issues, many runners turned out supporting moustaches, or wearing black. There were 53 runners and 3 different running clubs represented. First finisher was Antoine Le Corre in 20.37 and first lady was Springwell runner, Sonia Knox in 26.01

Results: Eddy Watterson 23:59, Mervyn Thompson 25:30, Sonia Knox (and dog) 26:01, Sarah Chestnutt 27:15, Jean-Claude Bourgeois 27:28, Andre Wilmott 29:45, Davy Patterson 30:53, Jack Blee 32:18, Michelle Sweeney 33:16, Elaine Montgomery 33:54, Rebecca Clarke 52:36. Waterworks - Alistair Shaw 19.13; Limavady - Aaron Craig 20.44 , James McMullan 21.10, Carolyn Crawford 27.00; Derry parkrun - Owen Anderson 23.33