Springwell runners at Waterside

Springwell runners at the Waterside marathon
Springwell runners at the Waterside marathon

On Sunday, nearly one thousand six hundred athletes took on the 34th annual Waterside Half Marathon in Derry. 

As expected, pre-race favourites Mick Clohisey and Freddy Sittuk (both Raheny Shamrock AC) played a major part in proceedings, leading the field out from the off.  Mick was in control throughout and cruised to victory crossing the line in 1:05:08. Freddy followed in 1:07:54, before local hero Declan Reed (City of Derry) completed the top three in 1:09:28.

There was a local winner in the ladies event, with Catherine Whoriskey (City of Derry) sealing an impressive win in 1:23:08. Teammate Jackie McMonagle crossed the line in 1:32:09 for second place, while Helen Bateson covered the route in 1:33:01 for third place.

Springwell Times - David McGaffin 1:28:58, Dave Sexton 1:29:13 (1st M55), Hugh Boyle 1:29:35 (1st M60), Jim Breen 1:30:27 (2nd M60), Gerard Mullan 1:31:24, Glenda Whiteside 1:33:04 (1st F35), Jason Scott 1:33:04, Aidan Devine 1:35:36, Kevin McLean 1:36:35, Barry McCluskey 1:39:10, Alwyn Hunt 1:39:41 (PB), Peter Jack 1:40:23, Roger Poland 1:43:10, Conor McStravick 1:43:21, Paul Irwin 1:47:18, Anthony Higginbottom 1:48:24, Catherine Pinkerton-Moore 1:48:39, Noel Harkin 1:48:51, Julie Millican 1:52:17, David Boorman 1:56:44, Valerie Hunt 2:00:01 (PB), Stephen Rainey 2:00:58, Emma Halcrow 2:05:43, Davy MacNicol 2:06:39, Collette Poland 2:07:28, Althea Clarkson 2:11:27, Sandra Rosborough 2:14:09, Linda Dickson 2:25:59, Roisin Hanna 2:27:15.

A sell-out field of one thousand runners descended on Belfast for the annual Pure Running Laganside 10K on Sunday afternoon. This year, for the first time, the event incorporated the Northern Ireland & Ulster 10K (Road) Championships.

The gathered spectators were treated to an excellent race, with both the men’s and ladies races living up to the pre-race hype.  In the men’s race, Gary Murray was unstoppable and sped into the finishing straight to break the tape in an excellent 30:34.  Paddy Hamilton followed in a season’s best of 30:53, before Stephen Scullion marked his return to competition with a 31:06 finish for third place.

In the ladies race, there was nothing splitting the top ladies as they went through 6K, with Danielle Fegan (Armagh AC), Catherine O’Connor (East Down AC) and the returning Gladys O’Neill (North Belfast Harriers). In the final stages Dainiel Fegan raced clear to win in 37:04. 

Commonwealth Games star Gladys O’Neill took a well-deserved second place in 37:32, while Catherine O’Connor took third place in 37:42. 

Springwell had three representatives at the race. Jonathan McKee had an excellent run setting a new PB of 34:36. Brian Geddis also ran a PB as he dipped under the 40 minute barrier for the first time in 39:58. Kenny Bacon completed his third race in four days coming home in 1:00:25.