Springwell in Seeley Cup road race

On Saturday, nearly 1000 runners took part in the Podium 4 Sport Seeley Cup 10K Road Race, incorporating the Northern Ireland 10K Championships.

Annadale Striders Paul Pollock crossed the line in 30:40 to take first place, and the honour of being Northern Ireland 10K Champion, adding to his already bulging trophy cabinet which includes the National Marathon and Half Marathon titles.

Club mate Paddy Hamilton finished second in 30:49, with Scott Rankin taking third place in a PB time of 31:38.

In the ladies race, Kerry Harty took the ladies 10K title in a personal best time of 34:23 with Gladys Ganiel O’Neill second in 34:58 and Claire Connor third in 37:50.

Annadale Striders team won the Seeley Cup and North Belfast Harriers picked up the ladies team prize.

Eighteen year old Neil Johnston broke Colin Loughery’s 10K club record, which had stood for 10 years, coming home in a PB time of 34:07 (PB). A product of Springwell’s Junior club Neil is one to watch out for in the future. Next home for the club was Paul Thompson in 36:42 (PB), David Jackson 38:40, Jim Breen 39:11 (1st MO55), Ciara Toner 42:39, Caroline Irwin 43:52 (PB), Robert Workman 43:53 (PB), Karen McLaughlin 44:12 (PB), Roslind Overend 46:03, Jim Platt 47:09 (1st MO70), Kenny Bacon 59:54 and Fiona Walls 62:00.

Nicky McPeake and Janeen McGregor ran the 21st Luton Marathon on Sunday. Nicky 3:22:17 and Janeen 3:46:25 completed the 26.2 miles in a seasons best time.

Portrush Parkrun is unique in that you never know what the course will be like until you turn up on a Saturday morning. This week high tide at 8.30am left very little beach and soft sand for the 30 odd runners and walkers who set out on their journey to the White Rocks and back. It was a beautiful winter’s morning bright sunshine, touch of frost and biting cold winds. Saturday’s Parkrun was also a naked run with the runners running without the aid of technology ie watches, garmins, ipods etc.

Foyle Valley’s Declan Doherty (21:11) and Marianne Scott (27:08) first timers at Portrush Parkrun were first male and female home.

Springwell Times - Bryan Edgar 21:25, Andrew Dowey 22:49, Johnny Goldie 23:42, Mervyn Thompson 25:43, Gary Watton 26:54, Conor Kendal 27:20, Gary Kendall 27:21, Sarah Chestnutt 27:57, Kay Hack 30:31, Margaret Edgar 33:34, Jack Kendall 35:23 (PB) and Lisa Boyle.