Plenty of shocks in Morrison Trophy games

editorial image

This week saw the first round of the Morrison Trophy take place.

The big shock was the defeat of last years’ winners, St. Colman’s, who lost out to First Coleraine in a very tight contest.

The visitors led by three shots at the break for although Martin McAleese (St. Colman’s) lost by one shot to Clifford McLernon, David Walker (St. Colman’s) beat Bryan Shaw 10-6.

Midway through the second half St. Colman’s extended their lead but First Coleraine picked up 10 shots in the last two ends to sneak a win. John Camac beat James McCook 12-8, whilst Jim Campbell beat John Simpson 10 – 4.

In an all Division 1 match, Loughanregh entertained the Marian. The home team showed their dominance throughout the match winning all four games. Ballinrees, lying down near the basement of Division 1 were not relishing the visit of Division 2 leaders, Moneydig. However their fears were misplaced for although the match was tight it was Ballinrees who came through.

Castlerock made the journey out to Aghadowey to play St. Mary’s. This was a very one sided contest with the Division 1 outfit proving too strong for their Division 2 opponents. The match was basically over at the break with St. Mary’s holding a 34 shots advantage. With both Castlerock rinks also losing the two games after the break, it is St. Mary’s who are in the hat for the second round. Second Kilrea with home advantage were probably quietly confident of beating rivals Dunluce. Dunluce had other ideas and they went home easy winners.

Uel McKeeman (Dunluce) beat Hugh Paul (Kilrea) 12 shots to 5 shots. Ian Kerr (Dunluce) then had a 9 shots to 3 shots win over Graham Wilson (Kilrea). In the second period Alistair Kilpatrick (Dunluce) and Nicky McCaw (Kilrea) ended up eight shots apiece. Rodney Kane (Dunluce) beat Ivan Smyth (Kilrea) to see Dunluce through.