Newtowne are Intermediate champs

NEWTOWNE were crowned champions of the Ballymena and Provincial League.kk

They were presented with the Prestigious “Connon Cup” which dates back to 1897 by the Assistant League secretary Miss Jane McIlrath.

This has been a good season for Newtowne who have come a long way since they were formed by John Holland in 1996 who is still heavily involved in the club with his son Martin.

Under Manager Neil Mullan and Assistant Mickey Burns who himself played in the league Newtowne are still involved in the latter stages of the McReynolds and Crawford Cups and had a very good run in the North West Craig Memorial and IFA Irish and Intermediate Cups.



This win certainly improves Mallusk league position and takes then out of the relegation zone. Mallusk went in front after Paul Walker converted a penalty on the 15th minute then doubled their lead when Ross Middleton scored on the 28th minute. Half-time saw Mallusk still two goals to the good though Ballymoney had a couple of good chances to cut the deficit before Daragh Mallon made it three nil for Mallusk on the 70th minute. Mallusk then sealed the win after Curtis Stirling scored the final goal on the 77th minute. Referee Mr. Martin Bellew


Glebe got off to a good start in this game with Jeremy Parkhill opening the scoring on the 15th minute then followed this with a second goal scored by Gareth Henry on the 16th minute. Cookstown never panicked getting back into the game after Ryan O’Neil scored on the 20th minute and were back level after Ryan Devlin scored on the 35th minute. Cookstown then went in front after Nigel Johnston scored on the 44th minute to lead as half-time arrived. Glebe got back on level terms when Gareth Henry scored his second goal in the game on the 70th minute and at the end a point each was probably the correct result.

Referee Mr. William McConaghie


Saturday 27th April 2013

Canada Trophy 4th Round

Glebe Rangers Res v Mallusk Athletic @ Joey Dunlop Centre Ballymoney.