Youth cyclists in the spotlight!

One of the four bunches at the Laage
One of the four bunches at the Laage

Ballymoney CC Biesty’s Centra Race Team last week featured the unrivaled success of their senior riders, this week it is the turn of the Youth to rise to the front.

With the famous and very popular Armoy Motorcycle Road Race Club Belgium Kermesse type race being held on the circuit on Tuesday evening past.

It saw the Schoolboy/girls race being won in a solo effort by Jordan Campbell in a great winning effort from Cameron and Calum Wallace.

Also enjoying this event were a great bunch of young riders who are aspiring to be the next Bradley Wiggins or Nicholas Roche.

Young ones like Oliver Watt, Peter McGratten, Calum McGrattan, Liam McAuley, Rowan Montgomery, Clark Logan and Charlie O’Hagan. It is great to see them enjoying what has become a top family sport.

In the Senior race the start line saw a field of over 70 riders from all over the country. Amongst these ranks of enthuasiastic racers were the eventual winner Aaron Swan riding for the Nicholas Roche Race Team, Nicholas was currently riding the Tour de France and his young protege was blasting his way round the Laage taking home the MCRR trophy now two years in a row.

Swan and last weeks winner of the Foyle GP, Stevie McAllister were started last, but McAllister punctured and it was up to Swan to close the gap over the 10 laps and win the bunch sprint at the finish. Second was East Tyrone talented youth rider Harvey Barnes from Cushendall’s Stephen McNeilly in third. Fourth went to Conor Young from Ballymena RC and then 5th and 6th went to our own Jordan McCaw and Uel Cunningham.

Thank you to the Chairman of the MCRRC Mr William Munnis, the club president Mr Bill Kennedy, Jean McPherson who along with our own Aaron Dickie have established this into a very popular event. All the girls for making the tea, sandwiches and buns, and to all the marshall’s at the road ends for making sure it was a great nights racing.

At the weekend all the top youth riders in Ulster gathered at Craigavon for the Ulster Youth Championships.

This is the lead up to the Irish National Youth Championships being held in Ballymoney later in August, with a time trial and a road race both the two Ballymoney lads were in the top 10 riders.

With the International Errigal Youth Tour coming up next weekend three teams of U12, 14 and 16s were selected to represent the Cycling Ulster Youth Academy. In the U14s it is our own Arthur Taggart who got the nod and in the U16 squad it was Robbie Doherty who recently was second at the Crit in the Park, third recently at the Dervock youth races and featuring well in some tough club racing that he uses to bring on his form.

The three Ulster Teams will be managed by Mickey Murray from Lurgan, Michael McKenna from Emyvale and Maurice McAllister from Ballymoney.

This Wednesday evening is the Ballymoney Road Race Championships at the Three Oaks circuit. Starting at 7.15/30pm. Sign on is from 6.15pm.

Everyone is invited to come along but awards will only be given too BCC riders.