Wasson helps N. Ireland to bronze in Cumbria

editorial image

Springwell’s Gillian Wasson was a member of the N. Ireland ladies team competing at the Home Country International Mountain Running Challenge in Keswick on Saturday.

The two teams from Northern Ireland put in top quality performances, both teams returning with bronze medals.

In the men’s 11.3K (with 690m of ascending) event, the N. Ireland men ‘packed’ well, with Gavin Mulholland (Calder Valley AC) leading the local contingent home in 54:58 (18th place). The remainder of the team followed less than two minutes later. The competition was won by Scotland with N. Ireland finishing third.

There was a notable outing for East Down AC’s Catherine O’Connor in the ladies 8.7K (with 460m of ascending) race. The N. Ireland lady couldn’t have chosen a better time to produce the performance of her life; on her international debut, Catherine clocked 45:05 (14th place).

This was enough to finish just ahead of team mates Gillian Wasson (Springwell RC) 45:39 (16th place), Shileen O’Kane (Lagan Valley AC) 46:21 (17th place) and Hazel McLaughlin (Lagan Valley AC) 49:54 (19th place).

The race was won by Emma Clayton (Bingley AC) in 37:42. England took top honours in the team, while N. Ireland finished third claiming the bronze medals.

Satruday’s ‘Stunnerz n’ Runnerz’ 5 Mile Road Race organised by Sperrin Harriers attracted a record number of female runners to Magherafelt.

Lagan Valley AC’s Suzanne Higgins took top honours, producing her most impressive performance since returning to competition to win 30:45.  Defending champion, Anne Paul, secured second place in 31:05, before the ever consistent Cathy McCourt followed in 31:30 and third place.

Springwell Times: Catherine Pinkerton-Moore 36:38, Alison McAllister 37:24, Donna Brolly 41:34 (PB), Mary O’Kane 42:58 (PB), Heather Coulter 45:06, Collette Poland 45:54 (PB), Melanie Millar 46:21 (PB), Catherine Byers 46:36 (PB).

Springwell Juniors travelled to Antrim Stadium on Saturday for day 3 of the NI & Ulster Age Group Championships. In near perfect conditions, all the young athletes performed well and will benefit from the experience.

Girls U15 1500m: Abigail McBroom 4th 5:03.3 and Amy Fountain 15th 5:49.1. Girls U16 1500m: Rebekah Hunter 4th 5:19.9. Girls U17 400m: Leah Gilfillan 7th 1:06.3.

Over one hundred athletes took on the Active Antrim 5 Mile Road Race on Friday evening. The event was hosted by a team from Antrim Borough Council, headed by former N. Ireland 100m record holder Anna Boyle. The race, which covered a relatively flat course, started and finished at the well-known Antrim Stadium.

In form Mark McKinstry (North Belfast) was greeted by loud applause as he entered the Stadium to win in 26:50. Justin Maxwell (East Coast AC) followed in 27:08 (second place). Springwell’s Bryan Edgar completed the top three in 29:40 winning the male vets prize.

Lyndsey Pronger (Orangegrove AC) led the ladies home in a time of 33:28.  Kirsty Sharratt (Larne AC) took second place in 34:19; Springwell’s Katrina Sinclair followed up her win at the East Antrim Harriers Trail Series, crossing the line in 34:30 to take third place.

Springwell times: Bryan Edgar 29:48, Hugh Boyle 31:08, Steven Magill 31:12, James Hamilton 33:58, Katrina Sinclair 34:30, Hugh Deighan 36:02, Margaret Edgar 43:31, Denise Walker 48:16 and Kenny Bacon 51:31.

Another beautiful sunny Thursday evening awaited the junior runners for race 3 of the Toscano Junior Hill and Dale on Hen Mountain. The one mile in distance, gave the junior runners a taste of open mountain running with 13 runners completing the race to the top of Hen and back.

Springwell’s, Oisin Brennan won the race in a fantastic time of 7:45 and was very impressive as he won comfortably with time to spare.

On Tuesday evening Springwell’s Steven Magill and Hugh Boyle ran the Cloughmills 10K Fun Run. Steven led the field home in 39:50 with Hugh close behind in second place. The early rain cleared, leaving another good day for the Portrush parkrun.

High tide was at 8.07am which meant that the sand was softer this week and the run returned to a promenade start and finish.

There were 146 runners (2nd largest turnout to date), 31 first timers, 29 PBs and 9 different athletics clubs represented. Keith Dawson was first to finish in a PB time of 18:31. It was a Springwell 1,2&3 for the ladies , Sonia Knox in 20:37 , followed by Hermione Skuce and Karen McLaughlin Bob Murphy became the latest Portrush parkrunner to be presented with his 50 T-shirt.

Springwell Times: Chris Denton 18:53, Sonia Knox  20:37, Dave Holden 20:41 (PB), Hermione Skuce 21:43 (PB), Johnny Goldie 22:01, Karen McLaughlin 22:18, Mervyn Thompson  22:45, Robert Workman 23:06, Gary Kendall 23:34, Lindsay Holden 24:11, Niamh Carr  24:45, Sarah Chestnutt  25:35, Benjamin  Logan 26.10, Patrick Irwin 26:12, Debbie Tutty 28:30, Caroline Taylor 29:08, Rebecca Clarke 29:09 (PB), Karen Morrison 29:16, Roisin Walker 30:24, Margaret Edgar 32:54, Bryan Edgar 32:55. Jillian McLaughlin 37:28, Kay Hack 39:11.

Springwell’s Katherine Woods was lady home in 21:12 at the Derry City parkrun.