Successful weekend for Springwell XC runners

Eimear Mullan on her way to win the Ladies Race at Ballyclare.
Eimear Mullan on her way to win the Ladies Race at Ballyclare.

Springwell Runners travelled to Ballyclare’s Sixmilewater Park on Saturday for the Malcolm Cup Cross Country. Annadale Striders hosted the event was the fifth race in Athletics NI’s Cross Country League.

After the Primary School race the ladies and veteran men took to the start line for their 3 mile race. Springwell’s Philip Tweddie put in a strong performance at the front to secure an impressive victory in 16:27.

Philip Tweedie on his way to winning the Male Vets at Malcolm Cup Cross Country on Saturday.

Philip Tweedie on his way to winning the Male Vets at Malcolm Cup Cross Country on Saturday.

Behind, there was an interesting battle for second and third place, with Mark Wright (Annadale Striders), Francis Tumelty (East Down AC) and Nat Glenn (North Belfast Harriers) amongst the contenders. However, in the end it was Mark Wright who took the runners up spot in 17:06, with Francis Tumelty following in 17:18 third place.

Springwell Times : Philip Tweedie 16:27, Gerry O’Doherty 18:58, Johnny Goldie 20:56, Jim Platt 23:48.

In the ladies race, it was defending champion Eimear Mullan (Springwell Running Club) who once again stole the show. The exceptionally talented triathlete dominated proceedings before breaking the tape in 17:30; this not only secured victory in the ladies race but also ensured fifth place finish overall. Cathy McCourt (North Belfast Harriers) took second in 18:24, while Jessica Craig (North Down AC) just edged out North Belfast Harriers’ Claire Connor (18:39) to third place, after recording 18:36.

Springwell Times: Eimear Mullan 17:30, Laura Hasson 19:59, Fran McFadden 20:14, Karen McLaughlin 20:55, Sarah Chestnutt 23:00, Catherine Butcher 23:24, Rosy Skuce 24:03, Lynn Montgomery 24:16, Debbie Tutty 25:07, Amanda Simpson 26:48, Ursula Harper 26:57, Karen Smith 27:07, Margaret Edgar 27:19, Sharon Brown 29:30.

Springwell and City of Derry ladies both finished on 25 points but City of Derry won on count back. The victory means City of Derry move above Springwell to lead the league by one point. The next race in the series is City of Derry’s home event at Gransha on Saturday 20 December.

Springwell had three representatives in the U15 two mile race. Adam Campbell finished 24th boy in 14:26. Eileanair Blair was 6th girl in 15:43 and Jodie Patterson 7th in 16:33.

The final race of the day was the prestigious Malcolm Cup, which saw the one hundred and fourteen competitors complete a 4 mile course. In the early stages, pre-race favourite Ryan McDermott (Annadale Striders) had Declan Reed (City of Derry AC) for company. However, as the race progressed, Ryan moved clear and never looked back; the Annadale Striders man looked strong as he held his lead before claiming the title in 20:57. Declan Reed clocked 21:01 for second place, while Jarlath Falls (Ballymena & Antrim AC) celebrated his return to competition with a podium place after crossing the line in 21:26.

Springwell Times: Conor Christie 22:12 (1st MU20), Luke Dinsmore 23:12, Philip Tweedie 23:15, Chris Denton 24:04, Brian Tweedie, Bryan Edgar 25:07, Gerry O’Doherty 26:55, Nigel Armstrong 27:13, Richard Baker 27:55, Jean-Claude Bourgeois 28:49, Johnny Goldie 29:17.

Exciting sprint finishes and thrilling races was the order of the day at the GloHealth National Juvenile Uneven Age Cross Country Championships at Santry Demesne, Dublin on Sunday.

Jack Culbertson finished 27th in the Boy’s Under 13 race and was a member of the U*lster silver medal winning team.

Springwell’s Under 15 Girls performed exceptionally well to come home with team silver. The girls where led home by Abigail in 14th place followed by Niamh Carr 18th, Hermoine Skuce 32nd, Ellie McBroom 44th and Amy Fountain 127th. Abigail was also a member of the Ulster gold medal winning team.

Rebekah Hunter was the first Springwell girl home in the Under 17 race finishing 25th followed by Aine McKinney 34th and Molly Brennan 64th. Aine was a member of the bronze medal winning Ulster Team.

This was a good day for the Springwell and made the long journey worthwhile.

Springwell’s Colin Loughery (39:42) finished second behind Caitriona Jennings 39:42 at the 10K Turkey Run on Sunday. The event organised by Valley Running Club was held on Benone beach and offered little shelter for the runners from the strong winds and rain. Bob Purcell 52:08 (PB) and Althea Clarkson 1:05:41 also took part.

Jim Breen was Springwell’s sole representative at the second race in the Sperrin Harriers Winter Laegue. Jim completed the Lough Fea 5K in 19:59 and was 1st M60. The race was won by Paul Barbour (Omagh Harriers) in 16:17, Anne Paul (City of Derry) was first lady in 19:56.

It was another dry, calm Saturday morning for Portrush parkrun, and the outgoing tide enabled another beach start. The only difficulty was the headwind that appeared at the 3K mark.

Sixty seven runners part, there were 2 first timers, 14 PB’s recorded and 3 different athletics clubs represented. Parkrun tourists were welcomed from England and provincial parkruns.

Although not present (at Ormeau parkrun), Judith McLaughlin was congratulated on being nominated as the Portrush parkrun Sweatshop parkrunner of the month.

pringwell’s Glenn Millar was first home in 18:22, only 2 seconds outside his PB and Samantha Linton was first lady home in a PB time of 23:38

Springwell Times: Glenn Millar 18:22, Alex Curran 19:14, Gary Kendall 20:18 (PB), Mervyn Thompson 21:50, Peter Jack 22:19 (PB), Robert Workman 22:20, Linda Gillen 24:38, Melanie Millar 26:33, Lindsay Holden 28:48, Catherine Bryers 29:31 (PB), Emma Birrell 31:32, Kay Hack 34:13, Chris and Luke Denton 39:40.

Springwell’s Deborah Gilliland finished first lady at Queen’s parkrun in 21:14. Brenda McGilligan ran 32:02 (PB) at ECOS parkrun. Bob McLaughlin ran 24:09 and Judith McLaughlin 26:47 at the Ormeau parkrun.