Springwell runners take top spots in Maghera 10k

ON THE RUN. Members of Springwell Running Club, pictured at the Maghera 10k.INBM22-12 9020F.
ON THE RUN. Members of Springwell Running Club, pictured at the Maghera 10k.INBM22-12 9020F.

Springwell Runners had a good evening at the Maghera 10K on Tuesday evening.

Conditions were perfect and it was starting to cool by the 8.00pm start.

The ladies picked up 1st and 2nd team with the men finishing 2nd team.

The purple vests also picked up a number of individual prizes and a number of PB’s were recorded.

Paul Thompson 36:52 (PB 3rd MO) was the first Springwell Runner home followed by Hugh Boyle 38:05 (1st MO50), Jim Breen 38:28 despite taking a tumble (2nd MO50), Christopher Miller 38:31(PB), Gerard Mullan 40:05, Leslie Ashe 40:15, Thomas Moore 40:50, Alison Rankin 42:16 (1st FO40), Linda Gillen 44:06 (2nd FO35), Johnny Goldie 44:30, Gary Moore 45:13, Robert Workman 45:16, Caroline Irwin 45:42 (2nd FO), Carol McIlvar 45:55 (3rd FO), Mervyn Thompson 47:04, Jim Platt 48:22 (2nd MO60), Althea Clarkson 49:47, Alison McAlister 49:54 (PB), Catherine Pinkerton 50:15, Kay Hack 50:20, Katherine Woods 50:58, Brendan McLaughlin 53:00, Rebecca Clarke 54:45 (PB), Mathew Hawthorne 55:30, Angela Calderwood 56:23 (PB), Caroline Taylor 57:01 (PB) and Kenny Bacon 62:03.

The race was won by Christopher McPeake 34:06 with Helena Quinn first lady in 41:00.

Gerard and Seamus Mullan made the short journey from Limavady to Derry on Thursday evening for Wilkies Classic 5 Mile Road Race. Gerard came home in 32:04 and Seamus 36:18.

Foyle Valley’s Puis McIntyre led the field home in 26:41 with Catherine Lilburn of City of Derry finishing first lady in 32:00.

The sixth race in Newcastle AC’s Hill and Dales series took place on Thursday night in Tollymore Forest Park.

On a beautiful sunny evening, 201 runners took part in the 4.5 mile race, taking in 1600ft of climbing. Andrew Annett of Mourne Runners won comfortably in 29:07, just 7 seconds slower than the course record.

In the ladies race, Shileen O’Kane picked up another win in 35:31 with Springwell’s Gillian Wasson finishing third and 1st FO35 in 37:04.