Springwell runner Denton takes top spot in record time at Titanic 25k race

Austria 2014 - Northern Ireland Ladies at the end of the Masters World Mountain Running Championships in Austria. Anne Sandford (Lagan Valley), Gillian Wasson (Springwell), Karen Alexandra (Acorns AC) and Shileen O'Kane (Lagan Valley).. INBM37-14S
Austria 2014 - Northern Ireland Ladies at the end of the Masters World Mountain Running Championships in Austria. Anne Sandford (Lagan Valley), Gillian Wasson (Springwell), Karen Alexandra (Acorns AC) and Shileen O'Kane (Lagan Valley).. INBM37-14S

Popular events team 26extreme held the second addition of their Titanic Series 25K, 50K and 102K distances on Sunday.

Interestingly, the 102K (increased from 101K in 2013) will be extended by 1K each year to mark the anniversary of the famous ship - Titanic. 

The 102K kicked off at 6am and took participants from the Titanic Quarter to Ballywalter, County Down, before they turned and made their way back to the stunning finish area in the capital city, Belfast. The race was won by Tim Brownlie (unattached) crossing the line in 9:38:49. The ladies race was won by defending champion Helena Dornan (Ballycastle Runners) in 10:36:11.

The 50K race started close to Ballywalter and guided the competitors back towards Belfast via the scenic coastal path and some road sections. Martin Rea (North Belfast Harriers), on his return from injury, ran well, dominating proceedings to claim the title in a quick 3:37:11. BARF’s Joanne Curran, bettered her third place from 2013, taking first prize in 4:25:17.  New Zealander Col Conway finished well, to secure second place in 4:32:25.  Fran McFadden (Springwell Running Club), last years winner, was the third female competitor to reach the Titanic finish area (4:33:25). Springwell’s Alison McAllister was fourth in a PB time of 5:19:27.

Distance runner Chris Denton (Springwell Running Club) was rewarded for his efforts in the 25K; the North Coast based runner led for most of the race, eventually winning in a record time of 1:40:48. The ladies top prize was won by Meave Larkin in a record time of 1:58:09.

Springwell’s Gillian Wasson was a member of the Northern Ireland team which travelled to Austria on Saturday for the Masters World Mountain Running Championships.

Gillian went in the Female Vet 35 race which covered a 7.9K route, incorporating 760m of ascent. Gillian had a good run finishing 10th in 52:26. Also in Gillian’s race was Karen Alexander (Acorns AC) who finished 6th in 48:45. The race was won by Austrian Petra Summer in 44:48.

Springwell’s Aife McSheffrey was a member of the Northern Ireland team who made the journey to Manchester to compete in the Sainsbury’s 2014 School Games. Over 1,600 of the UK’s finest young sports stars representing Northern Ireland, North East, South East, South West, Midlands, North West and Scotland descended on the Manchester Regional Arena.

Aife finished 7th in the 1500m in 4:56.47.

For the second year running, the battle to win the men’s race in the Bupa Great North Run came down to a sprint finish featuring Mo Farah. Farah and Mike Kigen of Kenya battled it out over the final 800m with Farah just holding off Kigen to win the race although both men where give the same finishing time of 60 minutes.

In the ladies Mary Keitany, the 2012 London Marathon champion finished well clear of the rest of the field and her time of 65:39 beat Paula Radcliffe’s 2003 mark by one second.

Tracey Cramond, 51 year old grandmother made history by becoming the 1 millionth finisher at the Bupa Great North Run.

Springwell had five runners at the race Ryan Kennedy 1:41:14, Nigel McNeill 1:46:01, Mervyn Thompson 1:49:22, Rebecca Clarke 2:10:17 and birthday girl Emily McLaughlin 2:41:17.

On Sunday, thousands of athletes and spectators descended on a sun soaked Ormeau Park, Belfast for the annual Pure Running Laganside 10K, organised by North Belfast Harriers. This year, the prestigious event doubled up as the Northern Ireland 10K Road Running Championships.

In almost perfect conditions, athletes set off on the two loop course, which would take them towards the City Centre and onto the Lagan Tow-path, before returning to the Ormeau Embankment, where they would then cover a second, shorter lap prior to finishing back at the Ozone Centre.  

Eddie McGinley (North Belfast) 31:23 and Kerry O’Flaherty (Newcastle AC) 34:17 where the major prize winners.

Springwell had four representatives in the race. David McAfee 39:24 was first home closely followed by Alistair Shaw 40:00, Brian Geddis 40:30 and Lesley Irwin 54:51.

Despite the air show and a number of other sporting events this weekend 89 runners took part in Saturday’s Portrush parkrun.

Richard Stringer was the first registered runner home in 19:20, and Springwell’s Caroline Irwin was first lady in 23:01.

Springwell Times – David Jackson 19:40, Caroline Irwin 23:01, Bob McLaughlin 24:48, Rozzy Skuce 25:40, Kay Hack 26:40, Molly Blee 27:43, Ursula Harper 27:49, Judith McLaughlin 30:02 (PB), Judith Smyth 31:50, Jillian McLaughlin 36:16.

Congratulations to Springwell junior Molly Blee who completed her 10th parkrun and will now get one of the famous white parkrun T-shirts.

Parkrun Tourists – Christopher Millar was first home at the ECOS parkrun in 18:38, Kenny Bacon ran 30:38. Alistair Shaw was third runner home at the Falls parkrun in 20:01. Davy Patterson ran 25:17 at the Derry City parkrun.