Springwell perform at the Walled City marathon

Pauric McKinney and James Crampsey pictured on their way to placing 2nd and 3rd in Sunday's Walled City Marathon. INLS2214-138KM
Pauric McKinney and James Crampsey pictured on their way to placing 2nd and 3rd in Sunday's Walled City Marathon. INLS2214-138KM

Thousands of athletes brought the City of Derry to a standstill as they took to the streets for the second running of the newly established Walled City Marathon.

In damp but almost perfect running conditions, the large field set off on their 26.2 mile journey from the Everglades Hotel in the Prehen Area.

Freddy Sittuk (Kenya), winner of the Belfast Marathon on May Day, led the field home to the atmospheric finish in Guildhall Square setting new course record of 2:25:47, Pauric McKinney (Inishowen AC) was second in 2:41:31 and James Crampsey (City of Derry AC) third in 2:43:42.

Anne Curley was rewarded for her efforts throughout the 26.2 mile endurance test with a well-deserved victory in the ladies race. Local hero Marina Campbell drew the loudest cheer of the day as she secured the runners up spot in 3:08:17, while Claire McGuigan also received a notable reception as she claimed the final place on the podium in 3:11:10. Springwell’s Fran McFadden finished fourth in 3:17:04 setting a new club record for the marathon.

Springwell Times - Dave Sexton 3:10:08, John Apperley 3:10:29 (PB), Fran McFadden 3:17:04 (PB), Nicola Frizelle 3:25:50 (6th Female), Gary Moore 3:27:16 (PB), Kevin McLean 3:27:31, Anthony Higginbottom 3:28:24 (PB), Stephen Fillis 3:31:39 (PB), Cathal McFeeley 3:33:22, Glenda Whiteside 3:34:03 (PB), Colin Apperly 3:37:32 (PB), William O’Kane 3:38:10, Ailstair Shaw 3:43:18 (Pacer), Catherine Pinkerton Moore 3:44:47(PB), Catherine Butcher 3:48:32, John Butcher 3:51:02, Simon Moore 3:54:43 (PB), Nigel McNeill 3:55:46 (PB), Alex Curran 3:56:24, Iain O’Kane 3:56:36 (PB), Kerrie McIlmoyle 3:58:05 (PB), Eddie Clyde 3:59:03 (Pacer), Noel Harkin 4:13:35 (PB), Chris Denton 4:11:10 (Pacer), Michela Black 4:14:11 (PB), Mandy McGerty 4:22:27 (PB), Amanda Connell 4:23:16 (PB), Peter Jack 4:28:00 and Anne Watt 4:28:08.

Four Springwell juniors travelled to Tullamore Stadium on Saturday to represent their schools at the AVIVA Irish Schools Track & Field Championships. To get to the finals they had already qualified through the District C and Ulster championships to then test themselves against the best young athletes in Ireland. All four performed well and should be proud of their achievements.

Junior girls 800m - Aine McKinney (Dominican College) fifth in 2:25.72.

Junior girls 1500m - Abigail McBroom (Loreto College) seventh in 5:03.61 (PB).

Intermediate girls 1500m - Aife McSheffrey (Limavady Grammar) seventh in 4:55.43.

Senior boys 2000m Steeplechase - John Gordon (CAI) sixth in 6:46.29 (PB).

Springwell’s Katrina Sinclair made a successful return to competitive running on Tuesday evening finishing first lady in the second race of East Antrim Harriers Summer Trail Series at Woodburn Forest. Katrina led the ladies home over the short but tough 2.5 mile course in a time of 16:53. The race was won by North Belfast’s Mark McKinstry in 13:30.

Springwell’s Fran McFadden had a third place finish in the first race in Sligo Fit 4 Life Woman’s 5K Series at Doorly Park. Fran completed the 5K course in 19:52.

Conditions were excellent for the 117 runners at Portrush parkrun on Saturday. There were 37 first timers, 13 PBs and representatives of 7 different athletics clubs taking part.

Richard Stringer was first home in a PB time of 19:08. It was a Springwell 1,2,3 for the ladies this week with Alison Rankin first lady home  in 21:22, Niamh Carr second and Hermione Skuce third.

Springwell times - Ryan Murray 19:43 (PB), Alison Rankin 21:22, Niamh Carr 21:38 (PB), Hermione Skuce 22:09 (PB), Johnny Goldie 22:32, Mervyn Thompson 22:59, Karen McLaughlin 23:07, Robert Workman 23:22, Patrick Irwin 25:26, Benjamin Logan 25:47 (PB), Rozzy Skuce 25:53, Sarah Chestnutt 26:00, Johnny Strang 27:59, Karen Morrison 28:42, Melanie Millar 29:54, Catherine Byers 30:30, Jullian McLaughlin 38:36, Victoria Smyth 46:54.

The parkrun continues to grow with 149 runners competing in the first Comber parkrun.