Ricky wins Ballymoney CC event

editorial image

On Wednesday evening local cyclist Ricky McMaster won the Ballymoney Cycling Club 10 mile handicapped TT in an adjusted time of 15.34 (actual time 26.16).

In second place was Marshall Craig, this was Marshall’s first time ever riding a time trial and he recorded a time of 15.54 (actual time 25.54). In third place was Jason Taggart with 18.56 (actual time 22.50).

Jason and Steven McAllister at the weekend competed in the Bobby Crilly Memorial 50 mile race on Saturday finishing on Divis mountain and on Sunday in the 69 mile Noel Teggart Memorial at Banbridge. These are preparation races for the Irish National Road Race Championships in Clonmel next weekend when some of the BCC riders will be travelling down to take part.

Also riding at Banbridge at the weekend were Ryan and Neville Patton, Neville getting a top 12 placing in the A4 race.

Under 16 schoolboy Ryan Orr was in action in the Under 16 races also. As Wednesday evening was cold for this time of the year it was surprising that the times were as good but it is clear that modern training methods are working. Other times by BCC first timers were, Marty Burke 19.38 (act. time 29.38) Trevor McKeeman 19.40 (act. time 29.40).

BCC riders taking part would like to thank, Rhona and Martina at the sign on, Chris Surgeoner for the timekeeping and Ryan Patton and others along the route, for their support with marshalling and making sure everything was run smoothly.

Here is the Final Results in TT Handicap series 2012

1st Ricky McMaster

2nd Marshal Craig

3rd Jason Taggart

4th Marty Burke

5th Trevor McKeeman

6th Aaron Dickie

7th Neville Patton

8th Steven McAllister

9th Chris Surgeoner (under 16)

10th Luke McAvoy (under 14)

11th David McAvoy

12th Jordan McCaw (junior)

13th Jack Owens (junior)

Aaron Swan wins in Clough Rangers Trophy Road Race

Last Tuesday evening in the village of Clough Ryan Orr and Stuart Laverty along with other schoolboy Aaron Swan took on the senior riders of Ballymena Road Club.

This was the Clough Rangers sponsored event and was a handicapped race. The three groups were set off with the schoolboys in the 2nd group, it was clear from the start that local lad Aaron Swan was going to do his best to win this race. He along with Ryan Orr and Stuart Laverty put in a series of vicious attacks to get rid of the other riders in their group.

With the gap opened Ryan and Stuart had difficulty hanging on to young Swan and had to let him go on his own.

This is where pure quality and top coaching comes to the fore as Aaron Swan won the race on his own from the other senior riders from Ballymena. Stuart Laverty BCC Racing Team was 6th and Ryan Orr BCC Racing Team was 11th.


This Tuesday evening is round 4 of the Interclub Road Race Series being promoted by Bann Wheelers. BCC have a full team

in action and will be assembling at Kennedy’s on the Letterloan road from 6.30pm with the Race starting at 7.00/7.15pm