Share this article

Four handicapper Paul Shiels continued to show the good form which has been his trademark so far this season by winning the President’s Trophy at Gracehill two weeks ago.

Paul scored twenty points before the turn and added another score including a birdie 2 at the 16th to pip Nick MacRae (21) by just a point.

Nick scored nineteen going out and went one better after the turn including a birdie at the 16th to secure a well deserved runner up spot.

Shane Bell had a great back nine amassing 22 point to grab 3rd spot with 37 points.

Three other players had the same tally namely Brian Munnis, Wallace McKeeman and Richard Stinson, who won the Gross Prize and in all there were eleven twos scored by the following players:

James Halley at the 11th Hole 11 Cecil Linton Hole 11 Paul McClarey Hole 11 Kenneth McCullough Hole 11 Peter Whittaker Hole 13 Kenneth W Taylor Hole 16 Nick Macrae Hole 16 Raymond McAleese Hole 16 David A McElveen Hole 16 David Radcliffe Hole 16 Paul Shiels

On Sunday 31st July in very wet and windy conditions it was twenty handicapper Gareth Elliot who showed his composure to come out on top on countback with 39 points- 21 of which were scored on the back nine, Malachy Carey William Watton and Rodney Donnell all deserve credit for pushing Gareth all the way scoring 39 points each.

Robert McNeill (2) was one back and won the Gross Prize.

Twos were recorded by the following players Hole 7 Steven Bell Hole 7 William J Watton Hole 11 Pete Cronin Hole 11 Robert McNeill Hole 14 Neilly Greer Hole 14 Robert McNeill Hole 16 Aaron Patterson.