Most competitors in Nevin Cup’s 45 years

THE draw for snooker’s Nevin Cup was made at Rafters Snooker Club in Ballymoney by two of the town’s best known sporting sons, Liam Beckett and Johnny McCurdy.

To make the draw for the competition, which is in its 45th year, they were assisted by Uel Wylie from Rafters and competition organiser Sammy Walker.

And this year’s number of entries was the largest ever - 62.

Many of those taking part are young players coming through thanks to the hard work of people like Uel and Richard Wylie at Rafters and William Boreland at the Triangle Snooker Club. Martin Crawley from the Dunloy club is also noted for bringing young players to the fore as well.

It is hoped the competition will start this Sunday with the first batch of matches at 2.30pm and all players are asked to be there on time.

Sammy Walker would like to thank all players for their support towards the competition and also Rafters Snooker Club for the use of their tables.

The winner will take home £200 with £100 for runner-up spot and £50 each for the beaten semi-finalists.

The draw is as follows: P McCook v S Gray, D Patton v R Gregg, D Murray v J McCook, P Simpson v J Davidson, D Baker v R Murphy, J Walker v J Ferris, M Crilly v D McGuigan, D O’Kane v W Boreland, H Ward v D Drain, R Campbell v M Hegarty, S Christie v D Norton, R Clyde v P McCullough; A McGonigle v M Walker, R McIntyre v G Cooke, A McDonald v P Martin.

B Moore Snr v T Morrow, M Baird v R McMullan, L Gibson v P Kelly, A Toner v Chris Boreland, J Patton v D McCaughern, P Roulson v A Boreland, C Sweeney v M Hutchinson, R Wylie v D Louden, U Wylie v K Clark, S Williamson v D Tweed, C Boreland v J Nesbitt, P McQuillan v C Cunningham, M Crawley v J Wylie, S Walker v B Moore Jnr, C Cunning v L McConaghie. Byes - W Eakin, M Wylie.