Wayne Stevens wins the Ernie Magwood Memorial
Wayne Stevens wins the Ernie Magwood Memorial
Share this article

Bryan McKinney, Wayne Stevens and Aaron Swan all racked up first placings this weekend with Devon McIlwaine getting a 2nd place in the A4 race.

Devon has now accumulated 9 points and is on the way to upgrading in his short time in competitive racing.

Bryan McKinney wins the Billy Stewart Cup

Two years in a row Ballymoney CC have made the Billy Stewart Cup their property, and like other Ballymoney CC rider and winner in 2010 Steven McAllister, Bryan McKinney won this years trophy, this is Bryan’s second open race win in two years.

With four Ballymoney CC riders in the bunch, Steven McAllister, Jason Taggart, Jason riding his first A3 race since his upgrading, Niall O’Hagan and Bryan McKinney.

On a fast circuit at Derrymacesh in Co Armagh the field of 40 riders set of to cover the 50 miles.

Ballymoney riders were quickly into action and determined riding by McKinney saw another victory for Ballymoney CC go into the record books.

Fast improving rider Devon McIlwaine was 2nd in the A4 race. Devon was the best placed Ballymoney rider at the recent RAS Loughguile where he was 7th and the plucky first timer represented BCC at the Omagh 3 Day.

Devon was a top placed finisher.

Well done also to Niall and Jason for their efforts. Niall and Steven competed at the David McCall Foundation races at Dundrod on Saturday in a show case event held before the Ulster Grand Prix motor bike races.

Aaron Swan wins at Dunore

Fast improving schoolboy Aaron Swan was again on the top step of the podium winning the U14 race at the Brendan Campbell Memorial races at Dunore, near Drogheda.

Aaron who is building up the victories this year following the latest success at the Mayo Youth races where he secured 3rd place and the coveted King of the Mountains.

Aaron finished ahead of other Cycling Ulster schoolboy Jake Gray from East Tyrone CC.

Wayne Stevens wins the Ernie Magwood Memorial Road race

In a tribute to Ernie Magwood from East Tyrone CC who sadly passed away last year.

Ballymoney Cycling Club decided out of respect for the former road race champion and gentleman of cycling to hold an Inter club Road Race in his memory.

In August 2010 Ernie rode on the Bravellen Road circuit and finished 10th in the

well supported event.

On Wednesday night in torrential rain and unnaturally warm conditions the riders lined up in an unusual format decided on by the organisers at the last minute where the race adopted the ranking system that the open racers compete in each week.

The groups were A4 followed by A3 and lastly A2 and A1’s. With the race distance cut from 5.5 laps to 4.5 laps due to the weather and fast fading light a break being hammered along by Jerome McKendry and eventual winner Wayne Stevens opened a gap from the A4 group.

Determined chasing by Jason Henry, Niall O’Hagan and schoolboy Aaron Swan was not enough and the front two of McKendry and Stevens lined up to contend the sprint.

Punching the air the victorious Wayne Stevens won his 3rd race of the season, closely followed by Jerome. Adrian Madden, Ollie Bateson and Martin Carroll took the top 6 places.

The winner of the Ernie Magwood Memorial Trophy is

1st Wayne Stevens Ballymoney Cycling Club

2nd Jerome McKendry BCC

3rd Adrian Madden BCC

4th Ollie Bateson BCC

5th Martin Carroll BCC

6th Jason Henry

7th Aaron Swan

8th Jason Taggart BCC

9th Steven McAllister BCC

10th Conor Higgins BCC

Coming events

With the season fast coming to a close, the racing is getting to a point where every race counts in the run in to the Club “End of season” awards presentation.


This Wednesday night is a special, race of truth for the purest. Ballymoney CC will host a 10 mile Time trial without any technological advantages.

The “Non Aero 10 TT” is on the Ballybogey line and starts at 7.15pm.

Guidelines for the event are as follows, NO.... Skinsuits, TT bikes, disc wheels, deep section wheels, triathlon bars, aero helmets, speed suits or aero overshoes.

Basically bring your road bike, jersey, shorts, shoes and maybe a pair of mitts plus your helmet

Ballymoney Cycling Club would like to invite riders from other clubs to take up this challenge as there is an opportunity to set a “RECORD” for the next 12 months.

Inter Club Road race Thursday night at Bann Valley.

This Thursday evening sees the final round of the 5 Club Road race league series at Bann Valley.

All Ballymoney CC riders are asked to make a very very special effort to ride this event, local rivals Bann Wheelers lead the event by a slender 3 points from Ballymoney CC and it is a case of all hands to the pump for this one.

The full team available will be on the Ballymoney CC message board this week.