BCC’s McCaw wins new Armoy race

Ballymoney Cycling Club’s Jordan McCaw made a piece of history by winning the first ever Armoy Motorcycle Road Race Club sponsored event on Tuesday evening.

The 16 year old, in his first ever open event, rode away from the rest of his group and won in fine fashion on his own over 90 seconds clear of a field that included the top schoolboys and juniors along with other senior riders in Ireland.

On a wet evening with the clouds threatening to burst and wash out the event, 36 riders assembled on the start line just before the Armoy Homes Chicane on the Hillside Road.

Riders from Dunloy, Bann Valley, Ballycastle, Loughguile, Cookstown, Dungannon, Ballymena, Banbridge and Coleraine joined together to try and win this “New” race in its first year on the Cycling Ulster calendar.

BCC race organiser Aaron Dickie who worked tirelessly to set this alternative version of two wheeled racing in the week when the motorcycle club hold their “Race of Legends” on the same circuit. With 8 laps to cover, the field was split into 4 groups with 6 minutes from front to back.

Winner of last week’s Ballymoney CC race at Balnamore and leading Irish schoolboy Mark Downey was in the last group off.

As the pace from the start was fast and furious a large crowd of spectators was assembled at “Robbo’s Corner” and they were treated to a close-up of what bicycle racing is all about.

Ballymoney former mayor and one of the founding members of AMRRC Alderman Bill Kennedy was keen to see exactly what bike racing was all about and showed a great interest in the equipment used by the racers,.

Going into the 5 laps to go stage the spectators heads were turned in anticipation when a lone figure could be seen in the distance,and to the cheers and whoops of the delighted crowd it was clear that the young Jordan McCaw had his eye firmly set on the title.

Jordan, a motocross rider and and a former Ulster and Irish champion, was putting his new skills to the test in the form of two wheels without an engine.

The groups were now coming together, and Ballymoney riders Jason Taggart, Graeme Elliott, Steven McAllister, Martin Carroll, Philip McKeown, James McCann, Mervyn Linton, Ryan Orr, Aaron Swann, Aaron Dickie and Ryan Fenton were clearly seen keeping the race in check.

However Jordan dug deep and crossed the line in fine fashion, The WINNER of the 2012 ARMMC trophy.

The sprint for second place went to Banbridge schoolboy Mark Downey from BCC racing team rider Steven McAllister in 3rd place.

Coming events

This week’s BCC race is the Ballymoney Club’s own 25 mile time trial championship. This championship event is for BCC members only and due to safety concerns it has been changed from the busy Newbridge road and will be held on the Dervock - Benvarden circuit, starting on the Ballybogey Road where the 10TT finishes. First rider off at 7.30pm