BCC rider races off with bronze medal at 50-mile time trial

PEDAL TO THE MEDAL. Steven McAllister wins the bronze medal.INBM27-12 9054F.
PEDAL TO THE MEDAL. Steven McAllister wins the bronze medal.INBM27-12 9054F.

Ballymoney Cycling Club rider Steven McAllister in his first ever individual 50 mile time trial finished third and was awarded the bronze medal.

This was in the Ulster 50 mile TT Championship on the Woodgreen course at the weekend.

A few dozen hardened time trial specialists set off at minute intervals from 9am on the A26 road between Ballymena and Antrim.

With heavy showers and a brisk wind it looked as though it would be a tough day for those taking part.

Top time trial specialist John Heverin, from Clan Eireann in Lurgan, was the favourite recording recently a 19 minute ten mile time trial.

From the gun he was the early leader, closely followed by Mark Greer from Maryland Wheelers in Lisburn and it was then going to be a battle for the bronze medal between Desi Folley from Phoenix CC, an Irish under age Champion in 1995 and racing competitively for 17 years, and Brendan McCourt another Belfast rider and experienced competitor in these long distance events.

It was clear that Heverin was out to do something special and he did not let anyone down setting an Irish Veteran and senior record time, (subject to official ratification) of 1. 45.42.

John was awarded the gold medal and also lifted the Tommy Given Memorial

50 mile cup.

Mark Greer recorded another record time of 1. 47.18. With Brendan McCourt beating Folley to the 3rd spot with a time of 1.56.22 from 1.56.56.

It was the Ballymoney rider that upset the party and stormed home over a minute faster and secured his first ever championship bronze medal in a time of 1. 55. 00 averaging over 26 miles per hour for the 50 miles.

Top five result.

1st John Heverin Clan Eireann (Gold)

2nd Mark Greer Maryland Wheelers (Silver)

3rd Steven McAllister Ballymoney CC (Bronze)

4th Brendan McCourt

5th Desi Folley Phoenix CC

The first Woman was Rachel Withers from West Tyrone Velo from Mary Hunter of Dromara CC.

Black Lion Points race at Dunaghy

In torrential rain 22 riders set off in a new formula of racing designed by Aaron Dickie to help improve the speed and ability to maintain a high tempo when in full competition.

On a three mile circuit around Dunaghy the riders were split into 3 groups separated by 2 minutes and with 50 minutes plus 5 laps ahead of them, the slower less experienced riders were soon caught by Jason Henry, Steven McAllister and Jason Taggart.

With the pace fast and furious and points being awarded for the first rider over the line at each lap, it was the clever finisher Aaron Dickie who got the first couple and leading schoolboy Stuart Laverty taking the next two.

Lap points were won by Philip McGuigan, Dean McIlfatrick and out right winner Steven McAllister.

Following the rules set out if a rider got dropped from the now flying bunch they could make their way back to the start and finish and rejoin again, only being allowed to do this three times before having drop out.

Ballymoney cycling Club would like to thank the riders from Dunloy, Ballymena and Bann Valley who came along to this “NEW” type of racing.

It was good to see some old faces (not so old) watching with top schoolboys Adrian Archibald and William Loughridge watching how things have changed since they rode in the 80’s and 90’s.

The full result was:

1st Steven McAllister 44pts

2nd Aaron Dickie 11pts

3rd Stuart Laverty 11pts

4th Dean McIlfatrick 11pts

5th Jason Taggart 10pts

6th Jason Henry 9pts

7th Liam O’Connor 7pts

8th Mark McCullough 6pts

9th Philip McGuigan 6pts

10th Stephen Smith 5pts.

Coming Events

This Wednesday evening Ballymoney CC will hold their Classic Orra Mountain Time Trial.

Sign on is from 6.45 at Magherahoney

and the first rider will start at 7.30pm on the Altarichard Road.