Ballymoney Youth cyclist wins Coleraine Criterium

The winner, BCC's Ryan Orr, and the runner up, Nigel Quigley, congratulate each other on a fantastic finish.
The winner, BCC's Ryan Orr, and the runner up, Nigel Quigley, congratulate each other on a fantastic finish.

Ballymoney CC Biesty’s Centra Racing Team are showing once again in 2014 that in all disciplines of cycling they are the one of the strongest teams in Ireland.

Winning team gold medals in the Provincial time trial championships, winning the six-club InterClub series easily in 2013 and now in a new excitining event round the streets Criterium racing top junior rider Ryan Orr was the outright winner from Bann Wheelers top rider Nigel Quigley and Carn cyclist Cathal Doyle was third.

This exciting and very public friendly event was organised on the week of the world famous Giro d’Italia’s second stage coming to the north coast.

BWCC chairman Charlie Wright and his team showed that they possess a talent for promoting these types of events.

The “Crit, Criterium” is a Belgium originated form of racing and is usually around a circuit of about 1 mile, plenty of cornering makes bike handling a priority and with high speed action that always draws a good crowd of spectators.

Coleraine town centre was buzzing, business’s that stayed open were even enjoying a bit of extra trade on a blustery Wednesday evening.

With clubs and teams invited to take part, there was Roe Valley CC, Bann Valley RC, Ballymena RC, Bann Wheelers, Carn Wheelers, Spires CC and strong Ballymoney outfit. Riding in the Biesty’s Centra colours were Team Captain, Jason Taggart, Martin Carroll, Ronan Sherman,young fast improving talent Robbie Doherty, Stevie McAllister, just back in training Devon McIlwaine and the winner 17year old Ryan Orr.

With a carefully pre arranged plan the three BCC riders watched and countered any moves made by other riders to try and get away from the fast disintegrating field off originally 60 riders.

Robbie Kane from the local club was an early aggressor and was trying to set up moves for his team leader Nigel Quigley who with 6-7 laps to go opened a gap on the main field.

Quick to spot the danger of the local rider getting clear, the reaction was fast andthe Ballymoney riders had the fast junior Ryan Orr onto the fast disappearing Quigley and these two set about opening a race winning gap.

As the duo came through the start and finish the excitement in the crowd was building and at the bell it was clear that the winner of the Coleraine Crit would come from these two riders.

And on queue, out of the last corner the Ballymoney lad jumped hard opening a gap on the local man and on the line was the clear winner.

The prize for the Best team on the night was awarded to Ballymoney CC: Jason Taggart, Devon McIlwaine, Stevie McAllister and overall winner Ryan Orr.

BCC team manager Maurice McAllister thanked the Bann Wheelers for their invitation and was highly complementary on the level of professionalism shown in putting together this, what no doubt will be an annual fixture.

This Wednesday 14th May sees the first round of the Interclub league at Ballyronan. Sign On 6:30pm for a 7 pm start. Three laps of an 7.8 mile course. Sign On - Newbridge Chapel Car Park on the Aughrim Road (near to the junction of the B18/ Shore Road).

Parking is available in chapel car park while overflow parking - Available on the hard shoulder on the Aughrim Rd towards Toome (Beyond the junction of the Shore Road). Car parking is also available in the 2 car parks located at the junction of the Aughrim Road and the Airfield Road.

Please do not park in the Aughrim Road Filling Station fore court or on the grass verges.