Ballycastle Golf Club Competition Report

Share this article

Team Clarke were the big movers in week four of the Winter League at Ballycastle as they jumped from fifth up to second place in the table.

Team Clarke is led by Club Captain Robin McHugh (31pts) with team members Patrick Dallat jnr (36pts), Seamus Killough (34pts), Patrick Dixon (37pts), Liam McLaughlin (33pts), Aiden Higgins (37pts), Barney McCahery (33pts) and Paul McCloskey (25pts).

The best five scores from team C added up to an excellent total of 177 and this gave them maximum points in week four.

Team Goosen still hold the overall lead after they bagged eight points in week four to give them a total of 30 points, five clear of team Clarke.

The skipper of team Goosen is Derek Bell (31pts) and he has been ably assisted by Hugh Sayers (33pts), George McVeigh (32pts), Eamon McIlroy (36pts), Chris Kelly (27pts), Patrick Campbell (27pts), Jonathan McBride (34pts) and Pearse Donnelly (25pts).

Three members of team Goosen are also figuring in the upper echelons of the individual competition with Jonathan McBride on a four card total of 133 points, Derek Bell on 131 points and Eamon McIlroy on 130 points.

Patrick Dixon from team Clarke is currently tied for the lead with Jonathan on 133 points with Declan McCarry from team Faldo not far behind on a total of 131 points.

Danny Taggart was the winner of Saturday’s section one stableford competition with a score of 31 points over the thirteen holes in play.

Second place went to Patrick Dixon with 30 points and Patrick Dallat jnr was third ahead of Eamon McIlroy and John Higgins jnr on count-back after all three posted scores of 29 points on Saturday. Elmer Wallace was the winner in section two with a score of 32 points with Francis og McGinn winning second prize and Aiden Higgins picking up a third place after both golfers recorded 30 points in the competition.

Michael Dallat snr had 29 points on Sunday to win the section two competition with Garth Beckett finishing in second place ahead of Jonathan McBride and Michael Campbell.

All three posted scores of 28 points on Sunday. James McNeill won the section one competition with Patrick Dallat snr taking the second prize after both men carded 27 points.

Wednesday’s Open stableford competition was played over sixteen holes with Gerry McConville finishing in first place ahead of Gerry Norwood on count-back after both had 33 points. Ivor Torrens collected third prize with a score of 32 points.