McEvoy and Knox win medals for Ballymoney Cycling Club

The winning BCC Team at The Big Splash Tri with woman's winner Claire McAvoy.
The winning BCC Team at The Big Splash Tri with woman's winner Claire McAvoy.

Ballymoney Cycling Club Biesty’s Centra Triathlon and Race team riders are setting a fierce pace in the build up to the end of the 2015 season.

On Saturday the BCC Tri Team were at the Big Splash Triathlon in Portglenone where recent Ulster silver medal championship winner Claire McAvoy was the 1st women in this event.

Steven McAllister

Steven McAllister

With David McAvoy, Graeme Morrison, Scott Bell, Chris Surgeoner, Ricky McMaster, Norma Snelling, Julie Sittlington and Janine Gordon representing the fast growing Tri team. David McAvoy was fourth in the male section.

A very big thank you goes to the support Crew of Donna McCook, Johnny Graham and Chris Surgeoner Snr. for their ongoing help.

On Sunday it was the Titanic Triathlon in centre of Belfast where BCC’s European Duathlon champion Sonia Knox was lining along with team mate Graeme Morrison to take the action into the second day of this already highly successful week. Sonia in the sprint event and Graeme doing the standard challenge.

The sprint distance saw a field of 188 starters and the standard event where Graeme was in action had 447 starters. The members of BCC would like to congratulate Sonia and Claire on their inspirational victories and on behalf of our youth racers who want to give a triathlon a go -”Well done!”

Sonia wins at the Titanic Triathlon here with sister Judith Larmour on the podium

Sonia wins at the Titanic Triathlon here with sister Judith Larmour on the podium


The BCC Biesty’s Centra Race Team not to be out done by their Triathlon colleagues set blistering times for the Long Legged 10 TT on the Ballybogey rd and top club TT riders Mervyn Linton and Steven McAllister were 7th and 12th out of 63 ridrs in the Ernie Magwood TT at Antrim this week.

Mervyn again set a new club reord for 10 miles in 20:29 (mins/secs) and Stevie did a PB of 20:56. This is a blue ribbon event for time trial specialists held on what is now a famous section of road between Antrim and Ballymena. The winner Marcus Christie who is just back from racing in the USA doing a time of 18.49.

In the club race on Wednesday evening won by Steven McAllister (20:40) there were 7 of the new BCC Woman’s team in action, See the results.

BCC Woman’s Team Results

1.Sonia Knox (W) 23.21; 2.Claire McAvoy (W) 23.31; 3.Janine Gordon (W) 27.41; 4.Nadine McCandless (W) 28.46; 5.Norma Snelling (W) 29.12; 6.Christine McCambridge (W) 33.28; 7.Julie Sittlington (W) 36.05

BCC Youth Team at the Long Legged 10 TT

In the Youth section there were nothing short of outstanding times by our young riders who are taking the Irish race scene by storm, Rowan Montgomery and Liam McAuley getting 3rd and 4th at the Teggart Memorial, Arthur Taggart and Robbie Doherty were 3rd and 5th.

At the Anticur Road Race on Thursday evening BCC’s Niall O’Hagan was 3rd in the Dunloy CC promoted Road Race.


Finn Sands Robinson (U16) 23.17; Breandan Flannagan (U16) 23.19; George Peden (U16) 23.31; Robbie Doherty (U16) 24.02; Arthur Taggart (U14) 24.49; Kevin McCambridge (U14) 24.57; Cameron Wallace (U14) 27.41; Rowan Montgomery (U12) 28.12; Jordan Campbell (U14) 29.00; Callum Wallace (U14) 30.11; Jack Hart (U12) 33.14; Clark Logan (U11) 33.19; James Black (U12) 33.54; Lauren Laverty (U12) 34.49; Charlie O’Hagan (U11) 36.15

The senior riders used the fast first section to build up a good head of steam with Shane McNeill, Gary Maybin and Vinny Mort from neighbouring club Ballycastle really busting it and getting three tremendous times into the bargain.


Shane McNeill (B,castle CC) 21.38; Vinny Mort (B,castle CC) 21.44; Gary Maybin (B,castle CC) 22.00

Ballymoney CC want to thank the great support given to the club and their events from Bann Valley RT, Glens CC, Dunloy CC, Carn Wheelers, Ballymena, Caldwell Cycles,Omagh Wheelers and Causeway CC.


This Wednesday at Stranocum is the 30 mile Stroan Circuit race, 5 laps of the Carncullagh, Stroan Circuit with the tough climb to the Kirk Rd being faced 6 times. This race starts at 7.15pm and sign on is from 6.15pm at the Bush Valley PS car park. As this event is open to all racers it is the BCC Road Race Championship and all members are asked to support it.