Laverty wins Dunloy Cycling Club’s Glenbuck Time Trial


Biesty’s Ballymoney Cycling Club rider Stuart Laverty won Thursday night’s Glenbuck TT after a tight sprint finish with Jonny Dooey from Dunloy Cycling Club.

The race got underway from the Bridge Road GAA pitches before turning right up Glenbuck Road where the riders climbed three times, finishing 300 yards along the Glenbuck Road on the fourth lap..

Both Stuart Laverty (Biesty’s Ballymoney Cycling Club) and Jonny Dooey (Dunloy Cycling Club) made an early break and were unable to be caught by the chasing pack.

Thanks to all 28 riders who took part on this very challenging circuit and thanks to organisers, marshals and timekeepers for giving their time and helping to keep everyone safe.

Dunloy Cycling Club wish their rider Conor Bradley a very speedy recovery after he came off on last lap of the race as the roads got damp due to the rain.

Results: 1. Stuart Laverty. Biestys Ballymoney Cycling Club; 2. Jonny Dooey. Dunloy Cycling Club; 3. Brendan Flanagan. Biestys Ballymoney Cycling Club; 4. Eibert van Thof . Spaartan Cycling Club, The Hague, Netherlands; 5. Niall O’Hagan. Biestys Ballymoney Cycling Club; 6. Sean Bradley. Carn Wheelers; 7. Ryan Wallace. Biestys Ballymoney Cycling Club; 8. Finn Sands Robinson. Biestys Ballymoney Cycling Club


Ladies, over 50’s and beginners are all welcome to come along to Dunloy Cycling Club’s 20 mile cycle on Wednesday 15th of July.

Registration takes place at 6.30pm with everyone leaving at 7.00pm from the GAA pitch. The route will be fully marshalled and refreshments will be served afterwards.

Come and join the fun. If anyone feels they are unable to cycle 20 miles they can go a shorter route.