Jude Gallagher Memorial ‘Round the Bridges’

Springwell Running Club welcomed nearly three hundred runners to their annual Jude Gallagher Memorial ‘Round the Bridges’ 10 Mile Road Race in Limavady on Thursday evening.  Good running conditions and the fast, flat course opened the door to the possibility of personal bests.

Pre-race favourite, Scott Rankin (Foyle Valley AC) certainly made the most of the conditions. However, his performance over this 10 mile course was arguably one of his best of the year; he crossed the line in 52:14 to win, improving his PB by over three minutes.  Jarleth Falls (Ballymena & Antrim AC), took 2nd place in 55:03, while Chris McGuiness (Foyle Valley AC) clocked a PB time of 56:17 to secure 3rd place.

Helena Crossan (Inishowen AC), claimed an impressive victory in the ladies race; recording 1:02:32 for the distance.  Anne Paul (City of Derry AC) performed well to take 2nd place in 1:03:45. Ciara Toner (Springwell Running Club) ensured the host club were represented on the podium when she finished in 1:07:12 (3rd place).

Prize Winners

Male Results: 1st Scott Rankin (Foyle Valley) 52:14, 2nd Jarleth Falls (Ballymena & Antrim) 55:03, 3rd Chris McGuiness (Foyle Valley) 56:17.

Female Results: 1st Helena Crossan (Inishowen) 1:02:32, 2nd Anne Paul (City of Derry) 1:03:45, 3rd Ciara Toner (Springwell) 1:07:12. Springwell had 45 runners competing in the race as well as a myriad of helpers. Springwell’s Paralympic hero Sally Brown was competing at the IPC Final in Birmingham on Saturday. Sally, proudly sporting her Springwell Running Club vest, just missed out on a podium place in a close T43-46 100m race.  She finished in 4th place after running 13.87; the race was won by Sophie Kamlish (Great Britain) in 13.56.

On Friday evening, Newcastle AC hosted the final race of the 2013 Hill & Dale Series at Donard Park. Ballymena Runners’ Jonny Steede won the race in a new course record of 21:19. Allan Bogle (City of Derry AC) took 2nd place in 21:29 and Neil Carty (North Belfast Harriers) claimed 3rd place in 21:51.

In the ladies race, the much anticipated duel between Shileen O’Kane (Lagan Valley AC) and Diane Wilson (Dromore AC) did not happen as Diane decided not to race. Anyone would be forgiven for thinking that this left the door open for Shileen to secure her seventh victory in the series; however, Springwell Running Club’s Gillian Wasson stepped up to the mark, putting in a notable performance to take the top spot in 26:07. Shileen ran well to cross the line in 27:03 (2nd place), Anne Sandford (Lagan Valley AC) claimed 3rd place in 28:40.