Hundreds turn out for pigeon racing ladies night as Ballymoney’s Dixon takes major awards

Some 200 members, friends and guests attended the recent Ladies Night for the Mighty NIPA held at the Templeton Hotel in Templepatrick, County Antrim.

Thursday, 27th November 2014, 3:54 pm
Danny Dixon won numerous awards at the NIPA Ladies Night including Sect B Fancier of the Year. INBM48-14S
Danny Dixon won numerous awards at the NIPA Ladies Night including Sect B Fancier of the Year. INBM48-14S

President Alan Darragh welcomed all present including guests Mrs Ethel Halliday, her Grandson Mr Greogry Lutton owner of Sporting Occassions in Antrim, Mr Neil Frazer of Frazer Foods,

Mr & Mrs Cyril Beattie of Beatties Pigeon Products, Mrs Maureen McCorriston from Dromore and Mr & Mrs Trevor Topping Sec Irish National Flying Club and then invited Sammy Thompson President of RPRA (Irish Region) to say grace.

Following an excellent meal the prizes for the year were presented by Mrs Ethel Halliday the wife of former Secretary the late Sam Halliday from Lenaderg in Banbridge. The current Secretary long serving Fred Russell said that in his time it was the first time the special guest at the Ladies Night was in fact a lady.

To cut down the time involved with the presentation only the one presentation was made for each individual loft regardless of how much was won.

The major winners first up included: Hector Cordner from Annaghmore, Jeff Greenaway from Dromore, Campbell & Bigger from Eastway, Danny Dixon from Ballymoney, G Buckley & Sons from Annaghmore, Allan McDonald from Portadown & Drumcree and Gregory McAvoy from Beechpark.

The full list of awards was published previously. Mrs Halliday presented a new cup to the NIPA, this will be competed for in 2015, the Sam Halliday Cup will be for Best Average, Rosscarbery OB & YB Inland Nat and St Malo OB Nat. George McDowell from Kells & Dist was the winner of the Presidents Cup kept secret until Ladies Night, a well dererved honour for George a tireless worker for the sport locally.

Rasharkin & District HPS: The club held the first of two annual shows at the weekend, a good turnout of 113 old birds were penned for a 3 in 1 Show judged by Henry McLaughlin from Coalisland and Davy Abbott from Cookstown.

Old bird Through wires - 1st: J & M Milliken, 2nd: J & M Milliken, 3rd: Steele & McNeill, 4th: J & M Milliken, Reserve: Steele & McNeill, Vhc : Blair & Rankin, Hc: H Cubitt, Commended: Steele & McNeill. Judged by Henry McLaughlin & Davy Abbott.

Old bird Handled - 1st: Steele & McNeill, 2nd: A C & T Tweed, 3rd: J & M Milliken, 4th: A C & T Tweed, Reserve: Blair & Rankin, Vhc: H Cubitt, Hc: T Kaczynski , Commended: Blair & Rankin. Judged by: Davy Abbott

Old Bird Eye-sign - 1st: Steele & McNeill, 2nd: Blair & Rankin, 3rd: Steele & McNeill, 4th: H Cubitt, Reserve: Blair & Rankin, Vhc : J & M Milliken, Hc: H Cubitt, Commended: T Kaczynski. Judged by Henry Mclaughlin. Best in Show won by Steele & McNeill. Best Opposite Sex won by A C& T Tweed.

Larne Monster Show, Saturday 29th November 2014, will be held in the Old Glenarm Road Clubrooms, penning 10.00am to 1.30pm with judging 2.00pm to 5.00pm. The prize distribution at 5.30pm.

Entry fee is £1 per bird with six classes: Old cocks, Old hens, Young cocks, Young hens plus Old and Young bird eye-sign (birds may be duplicated).

Money prizes for Best in Show and Best Opposite Sex with additional Aviform prizes kindly sponsored by June and Robert Kirkwood.

There are prizes for all classes including bags of feed, wooden feeders, Matrix tubs, Gardex, drinkers, grit/minerals, bottles of wine etc.

There is an additional monetary prize for the best Larne and District bird very kindly donated by Money Matters (

The MONSTER SHOW AUCTION will be during judging (3.00pm onwards) with select 2015 young birds donated by any RPRA member but only Section C fanciers may compete in the Rosscarbery race (or equivalent) with prize money of £1,000, 40% to the breeder, 60% to the buyer. For more information and/or to donate young birds please contact Owen Donnely on 28 260425 or 07816910993.

There will be a number of stalls including June and Robert Kirkwood, Roy Irwin (Arlington lofts) with birds for sale, Liam O’Neill wooden products.... Any other additional stall holders please contact Owen Donnelly, as above.

Larne and District had a very successful Moot on the evening of 31st October and the club committee convey their thanks to all those who attended and supported the venture.

The panel of Nigel Laycock and Jeff Greenaway gave impressive, detailed answers, with no holds barred, and many have commented on a super evening chaired by the effervescent Chris Moore. The 2014 King’s Cup winner, Blaine McEvoy, put in a surprising, but very welcome, appearance.

Auctioneer Steven McGarry proffered his gregarious services for eleven birds donated by the following top fanciers: Michael Atcheson, Davy Black, Campbell & Bigger, Jeff Greenaway, Billy Harris, Nigel Laycock, Sheldon Leonard, Leslie Madden, Blaine McEvoy, Brian McNeilly, Mick O’Rourke. The magnanimous gesture of these eleven gentlemen is very much appreciated by the Larne club. Once again, many thanks to all the contributors and perhaps a similar event can be repeated next season.

INFC Charity Show – Will take place one week earlier this year, on Saturday 6th December in Lisburn Leisure Centre. Usual stands have booked their space, fancy pigeons and show classes will again be on view. Wesley Sawyers has taken over the role of the Charity Sale auctioneer from Ronnie Johnston who had been involved from the first show. Ballot tickets are with the local clubs, they need returned to Helen Marshall before the show date or at the show itself. Sam Briggs is now the Show Manager and would appreciate any help. If you need any info on the show contact Sam Briggs Tel: (028) 92 676400 or anything to do with Charity Sale contact Wesley Sawyers Tel: 07831 560399.