IRISH LEAGUE: Honours even as Dungannon Swifts draw with Coleraine

Coleraine's Brad Lyons celebrates his goal against Dungannon Swifts
Coleraine's Brad Lyons celebrates his goal against Dungannon Swifts

Coleraine missed out on the chance to move into second place in the table after they were held to a 2-2 by Dungannon Swifts.

Oran Kearney’s men were pegged back twice by the Stangmore Park side under the lights at The Showgrounds.

The Bannsiders got off to the perfect start when Neil McCafferty fired them in front from the spot after only nine minutes.

The former Swifts star made no mistake after Seanen Clucas sent Jamie McGonigle tumbling in the box as he tried to get on the end of a Rodney Brown cross.

The game was levelled up on 17 minutes when the visitors were awarded a penalty of their own, Andy Mitchell making no mistake from 12 yards.

It was harsh on home skipper David Kee though who was only a yard away from Paul McElroy’s fiercely struck shot, which cannoned off his arm.

The Bannsiders edged in front again on 39 minutes after a poor back pass from David Armstrong was seized upon by Brad Lyons, he rounded Coleman to score despite the best efforts of Hegarty on the line.

Dungannon had a similar opportunity on 51 minutes as Jamie Glackin slipped in Mitchell, he rounded the keeper but lost his footing as he tried to convert from a tight angle and only found the side netting.

Brad Lyons then struck the post with 18 minutes to go after good work by Allan.

Coleraine should have added a third on 67 minutes after Lyndon Kane picked McGonigle out with a great cross. His glancing header was parried away and Jordan Allan somehow missed the follow up.

They were made to pay as Hegarty rose highest to head home Glackin’s corner on 79 minutes to grab his side a draw.

Coleraine: Johns, Kane, Douglas, McCauley, McCafferty, McLaughlin (Allan 44), Brown, Kee, McConaghie, Lyons, McGonigle. Subs: Mullan, Higgins, Ogilby, Parkhill.

Dungannon Swifts: Coleman, Hegarty, Wilson (Wilson 76), Armstrong, Glackin, Mitchell, Harpur, O’Rourke, Burns, Clucas (Teggart 57), McElroy (Fitzpatrick 90). Subs: Addis, Lowe.