Flannagan and Maybin battle it out at Capecastle

ROUND 1 of The Armoy Community Pharmacy Handicapped Time Trial League got underway on the Capecastle 10 mile TT circuit. 12 testers lined up for what was another closely fought contest between the on form Gary Maybin and veteran cyclist Des Flannagan.

Friday, 10th May 2013, 8:19 am

It was Flannagan on the night who claimed maximum points in the handicapped league with a net time of 19:05 followed closely by Maybin with a net time of 19:12.

Martin Carroll, who has recently been finding form in the local racing scene, also pipped the Sprint League Champion Tadhg Sands in to third spot in a time of 19:21.

We also had members from The Glens CC, Brendan McAlister and Brendan McGaughey and Ballymoney CC, Philip Mckeown, try out this new TT circuit. This TT also saw Ballycastle CC’s new members Vinny Mort and Matt Scrimgeour take to the line who both made a very good account of themselves in their first club TT.

Results of Rd 1:

Position Name Handicapped Time

1 Des Flannagan19:05

2 Gary Maybin19:12

3 Martin Carroll19:21

4 Tadhg Sands19:31

5 Vinny Mort20:00

6 Nicholas Webber20:00

7 Clare Egan20:00

8 Matt Scrimgeour20:00

9 Helena Dornan20:29

Q-Cutts Barber Shop10 Mile TT Scratch League

Ballycastle CC’s scratch TT races also got underway on Wednesday evening, the first of which was kindly sponsored by John Quinn, owner of Q-Cutts barber shop in Ballycastle town centre.

In this race, Gary Maybin not only cruised to victory in a time of 24:22 and claim the Q-Cutts 10 mile TT Trophy but also claimed the new course record.

Gary has recently returned to form after a back injury and week by week his 10 mile TT times are vastly improving, knocking almost a minute off his time of 25:12 set 4 weeks ago. Second place went to Des Flannagan in time of 25:05. Flannagan, a seasoned cyclist originally learnt his trade as a racing cyclist at the Belfast based Phoenix Cycling Club and has only recently returned to action having been out of the sport for almost 20 years. Third spot on the night went to Martin Carroll in another impressive time of 25:11.

Q-Cutts 10 mile scratch TT

Position Name Handicapped Time

1 Gary Maybin24:22

2 Des Flannagan25:05

3 Martin Carroll25:11

4 Tadhg Sands26:01

5 Helena Dornan Net 27:29 (Gross 29:29)

6 Vinny Mort28:17

7 Nicholas Webber29:19

8 Matt Scrimgeour31:20

9 Clare EganNet 32:25 (Gross 34:25)

The second round of the Armoy Community Pharmacy TT league will take place on Wednesday 15th May on the Gracehill Road 10 mile TT circuit.

Anyone wishing to take part in Ballycastle CC’s TT league must bring either their club competition licence or a printed version of their Cycling Ireland profile page with their licence number shown.

We will also be holding our regular 10 mile scratch TT race which has been kindly sponsored by Ashgrove Conservatories (Crankhill Road, Ballymena). Marshal Rota for the night includes George McBride, Vinny Mort, Eileen Turner, Gerard Turner, Dominic McDonnell and whoever else would like to volunteer. Sign on is from 1845 hours at Armoy Presbyterian Church. For anyone wishing to take part and would like more information please contact the club on 07414232399 or email [email protected],com.

While we have no TTs this week, Dunloy are hosting a road race for club competition licence holders.

Finvoy Tyre Service is sponsoring the Dunloy Spring Classic this year. This club road race will be held on Thursday May 9th and is open to anyone holding a club competition licence or above, whether attached to a club or not. A good night’s racing and a great cup of tea are guaranteed!