Excellent McArthur Marathon organised by Springwell club

Brendan McLaughlin
Brendan McLaughlin

On Saturday, nearly three hundred athletes descended on the village of Dervock for the annual Kennedy Kane McArthur Festival of Running.

The event organised by Springwell Running Club and Dervock & District Community Association offered runners the opportunity of racing over 10K and Half Marathon distances. The latter was also part of the Pure Running Half Marathon Series.

Brian Campbell (Willowfield Harriers) looked strong as he successfully defended his Half Marathon title cruising to victory in 1:15:08. In the ladies race, the classy Elspeth Turner (Horsham Blue Star AC), showed her worth; the veteran athlete, who has a 13.1 mile best of 1:14:07, led the field home in 1:27:27.

Springwell Times - Paul Thompson 1:21:00 (3rd & 1st Local Male), Chris Denton 1:23:53 (1st M40), Glenn Millar 1:26:10, Steven Magill 1:27:26, Stephen Joyce 1:29:04, James Stewart 1:30:44, Hugh Boyle 1:34:17 (1st M60), Dave Sexton 1:34:18, Conor McStravock 1:40:09, Aidan Devine 1:42:20, James McMullan 1:44:52, Warren McIlmoyle 1:46:07 (PB), Alan McKeeman 1:48:05, Barry McCluskey 1:50:27, David Boorman 1:58:59, Bob McLaughlin 1:59:31, Melanie Millar 2:03:59 (1st Local Female), Brendan McLaughlin 2:11:20, Stephen Smyth 2:12:50, Judith McLaughlin 2:15:21 (1st F55), Margaret Edgar 2:18:16.

The host club’s Neil Johnston (Springwell RC) topped the 10K podium clocking 35:43.  Aaron Meharg (Acorns AC) sealed the runners up spot just over a minute later in 36:48 before Kent Swann (North Belfast Harriers) crossed the line in 37:05 for third.

Springwell Times - Neil Johnston 35:39 (1st MO), Jonathan McKee 37:23, Gemma Turley 40:39 (3rd FO), David McAfee 40:58 (1st Male Local), Gerry O’Doherty 41:30 (1st M55), Scott Bell 43:46, Johnny Goldie 48:03, Sarah Chestnutt 48:57, Lisa Young 50:28, Ian Young 50:48, Louise McDonnell 54:23, Elaine Young 55:15, Emily McLaughlin 58:55 (1st Local Female), Roberta French 59:10, Noelle Watterson 59:22, Norma Snelling 59:55, Elaine Montgomery 1:02:00, Denise Walker 1:06:13, Lorraine Abernethy 1:06:41, Clive Elliott 1:08:03.

Springwell RC and Dervock & District Community Association would like to thank all the sponsors, the PSNI, St John Ambulance, marshals and volunteers who helped make the event a success.

On Friday evening, Springwell’s Gary Moore (46:42) and Catherine Pinkerton Moore (53:40) ran the Born 2 Run ‘Sea 2 Sky’ 10K in Newcastle.

Springwell Runners made the short journey to Ballykelly Forest on Sunday for the latest race in the Valley RC 5K series. The race was won by Chris Millar (Derry City Track Club) in 22:23. Springwell’s Fran McFadden 24:12 led the ladies home before team mate Paul Irwin took the third male place in 24:15. Springwell’s Conor McGowan was first male junior in a time of 27:40. Liadhan McAnena also completed the course in 47:00.