Entries open for Ballybrakes Short Mat tournament

BOWLED OVER. Some of the action on Saturday at Ballybrakes Stadium.INBM42-15 024SC.
BOWLED OVER. Some of the action on Saturday at Ballybrakes Stadium.INBM42-15 024SC.

Entries are now invited for the Ballybrakes Community Indoor Bowls Club’s Annual Short Mat Christmas tournament.

This very popular tournament will get under way on Monday, December 28 and run until Friday, January 1, with finals night on Saturday, January 2.

All entries can be forwarded to Donna McCloy, 48 Millbrooke Manor, Ballymoney.

Alternatively Donna can be contacted on 07764 469006, or by e-mail secretary.ballybrakescibc@gmail.com, or to our Ballybrakes CIBC Facebook page.

The cost for entries for the Annual Short Mat Christmas tournament are as follows: Singles £4: Monday (28th) evening; Tuesday (29th) evening; Friday (1st) afternoon. Pairs £6: Monday (28th) afternoon; Wednesday (30th) evening; Friday(st) January evening. Entries close Friday, December 18.

“We had a record number of entries for last year’s tournament and hopefully we can exceed that this year,” said Donna. “It is always a very popular tournament witin the indoor bowling community with some very closely fought matches and I’m sure this year will be do different.”


The results for the Ballybrakes Community Indoor bowling are as follows:

Monday afternoon

M McCullagh 3 A Scott 16

H Elliott 9 J Graham 13

R McClure 9 E Andrews 7

E Armstrong 21 R French 10

Tuesday night

A McClelland 9 A Scott 14

S Mitchell 8 A McKillop 19

Thursday afternoon

R Calvin 10 E Armstrong 15

J O’Neill 9 T Mairs 14

J Graham 11 J Hagan 11

M McCullagh 15.75 v J Shields 4

Thursday night

N Vauls 9 G McCloy 13

J Millar 6 A Morrison 12

Friday night

C Stewart 14 A Elliott 9

G McCloy 7 W McCaw 10

A Robinson 10 H Elliott 9


Congratulations to Noelle Graham, Anne McClelland, Penney Johnston, Alice Elliott, Dessa Baird, Pat Calvin and Anne McKillop on their selection to the Irish Ladies International Team and to Anne Smith on being named as reserve

Also everyone at the Club would like to wish good luck to Noelle Graham (singles), Penney Johnston and Anne McKillop (pairs), Maureen Robinson, Pat Calvin and Alice Elliott (triples) and Anne Smith, Barbara Logue, Anne McClelland and Jennifer Dowds (fours) who will represent the Ballybrakes club at the ladies Irish Championship finals in January.

For any enquiries about Ballybrakes Community Indoor Bowling Club please contact: Donna McCloy telephone 07764 469006 or by e-mail secretary.ballybrakescibc@gmail.com, or by Facebook to the Ballybrakes CIBC page.