Dervock win Raymond Simpson Memorial trophy

A team representing Dervock won the annual Raymond Simpson Memorial trophy at Paddy's Park last Friday night.

Monday, 16th August 2010, 9:39 am
Updated Monday, 16th August 2010, 9:47 am

Goals from Ian Bellingham in the first half and James 'Sticky' Steele in the second half clinched victory for Dervock against Dunaghy.

The large crowd were treated to some good football with a more youthful Dunaghy side never quite able to get to grips with a Dervock team which contained several veterans.

One of the organisers, Willie McCoanghie, who turned out in Dervock colours, was delighted that the game was played in a sporting manner and also that a good crowd turned up.

He has thanked all who supported the event including sponsors, public and the players. The two finalists each had 4-2 wins, Dervock defeating Mosside and Dunaghy beating Garvagh.

Afterwards, the presentation of awards took place in the North Irish Horse with Vicky Simpson and her daughter, Deirdre, doing the honours.

Brian Kane presented the Player of the Tournament' award to Davy Feeney who turned out for Dervock. Brian was standing in for Noel Laverty of sponsors, Mill Tea Room.

A penalty competition was also held. There were three categories with Tony Kelly getting the junior award, Jonathan Feeney the middle grade and Joel McCormick, the senior grade.