Ballymoney’s Andy McLeister adds National Series to list of awards

editorial image

One week after claiming the Irish title at Ballymena Raceway Andy McLeister returned to the Ballymena Showgrounds on Friday evening and added the National Series to his growing list of awards!

The Ballymoney battler started his bid for glory from the outside of row one alongside pole position man Jason Clyde and the pair fought out an entertaining side by side battle over the opening laps before McLeister eased his way ahead with an excellent overtaking manoeuvre around the outside. Irish Champion McLeister stretched away from the pack as attention switched to a hectic battle for second between Clyde, Nigel Doherty, Rodney Stewart and Freddie Fleck.

Clyde was eventually bundled wide by those behind which earned Stewart a two place penalty from the race steward. McLeister’s only problem out front was a sick sounding engine caused by a broken exhaust on his Vauxhall Astra, but the Irish Champion nursed the car home for a fine win, with Doherty and Clyde declared in second and third after Stewart’s penalty was applied to the result. McLeister will now be looking to make it three titles on the trot with the coveted Golden Helmet Trophy up for grabs at the final meeting of the season.

Wilfie McNiece was crowned Stock Rod Irish Champion after an action packed race. McNiece received the title for the first time after on the road winner Steven McKane was removed from the results when his car failed the post race inspections, with former Junior Rod stars Aaron Moody and Matthew McKinstry confirmed in second and third. Craig McConnell turned in a faultless drive to capture the F2 Stock Car Stadium Championship for a record fourth time, while Antony Kincaid added the Junior Rod Gold Roof Series to his recent Irish title success. Euro Stocks completed the classes on display where Colin Clifford rolled back the years to take his first final win of the season at Raceway, but only after a tremendous scrap with double heat winner Aaron McGraw from Garvagh over the closing laps.

Results - Stock Rods 2015 Irish Championship: 1, Wilfie McNiece, 2, Aaron Moody, 3, Matthew McKinstry. F2 Stock Cars Stadium Championship: 1, Craig McConnell, 2, Christopher Kincaid, 3, Conor Hughes. GP2 National Series: 1, Andy McLeister, 2, Nigel Doherty, 3, Jason Clyde. Junior Rods Gold Roof Series: 1, Antony Kincaid, 2, Jack Patchett, 3, Joshua McKinstry. Euro Stocks: 1, Colin Clifford, 2, Aaron McGraw, 3, Mark Frew.