Ballymoney Cycling Club riders in winning form...!

Ballymoney CC riders Arthur Taggart, Rowan Montgomery, Clark Logan, Kevin McCambridge, Breandan Flannagan and Stuart Laverty were top step of the winners podium in the past seven days - making it six wins in a week.

Friday, 10th June 2016, 7:07 am

Ballymoney CC Biesty’s Centra youth racer Breandan Flannagan from Ballycastle broke the U16 record for the

Ballymoney, Kirkhills, Dervock circuit previously held by Aaron Swan back in 2013. Breandan set a time of 25.42, beating the previous time by a wooping 5 seconds. Here are the Final Results:

1st Breandan Flannagan BCC U16 (New U16 Record) 25.42

2nd David McAvoy BCC 26.25

3rd Aaron Dickie BCC 26.31

4th Finn Sands Robinson BCC U16 26.41

5th Claire McAvoy BCC 27.08

6th Robert Fleming CCC 27.42

7th Billy Reilly CCC 28.22

8th Philip Logan BCC 28.37

9th Kyle Fleming BCC U15 28.49

10th Ricky McMaster BCC 29.29

11th Rowan Montgomery BCC U13 29.30

12th Curtis McDonald 30.03

13th Chris Walsh CCC 30.1

14th Mervyn Brolly U/A 30.37

15th Conor McGowan RVCC U16 30.58

16th Cameron Wallace BCC U15 31.25

17th Thomas Warke BCC U14 31.4

18th Clive Gibson CCC 31.42

19th Jordan Campbell BCC U15 31.57

20th Meabh Flannagan BCC U12 32.40

21st Callum Wallace BCC U15 33.01

22nd Peter Steele BCC U14 33.02

23rd Douglas Hill BCC 35.19

24th Clark Logan BCC U11 38.25

This TT also saw Meabh Flannagan set a new girls record for the course with 32.40, Meabh is racing in the U12. And then on Thursday at the Dunloy CC road race, Stuart Laverty and Breandan Flannagan broke clear of the field and Laverty took the flag from his U16 teammate giving BCC a 1-2 with other youth racer Shay Donley was 6th. This race was also rode by Ballymoney riders, Philip McKeown, Aaron Dickie and Finn Sands Robinson.

Kevin McCambridge was the winner of his local Glens CC 10 mile TT with a time of 24.12 for the U15 rider. Kevin like the rest of his club mates is preparing for the Errigal International Youth tour in Donegal

Track specialist Arthur Taggart was again in winning form at Sundrive in Dublin winning on the track, a very specialised event but something that has shot the Ballymoney High school lad to prominence in this discipline.

Then on Saturday the racing for the youth was at Bishopscourt motorcycle race track, here it was the turn of Rowan Montgomery and Clark Logan to win the U12 and the U14 races. These are fast and furious types of racing but the 2 Ballymoney lads were more than capable to handle themselves and gave the Ballymoney outfit another brace of wins. Also in this event were Andrew Robinson and Peter Steele in the U16 and U12 races, Andrew was 4th in the U16’s

BCC Tri Team in Galway -The BCC Tri team were in Galway at the weekend as 13 athletes enjoyed the competition at the Castle Triathlon Series in Loughborough Cutra. They all competed in the different categories,

Charles Russell, Scott Bell, Norma Snelling, Eddie Hampton, Kyle Leckey, Simon Evans and Nadine McCandless competed in the Gauntlet. This event was intended to be a 70.3 (Half Ironman), but due to heavy fog it was changed to a duathlon (7k run 96k bike and 14k run)

Philip Magill and Angela Calderwood competed in the Standard distance, Julie Sittlington and Donna McCook did the Sprint plus distance. Emma Evans and Stephanie Leckey completed the Super Sprint. (Report by Julie Sittlington)

The Giro Gran Fondo - Following on from the Giro in 2014 the world recognised Gran Fondo series was again in Belfast at the weekend, Ballymoney CC riders Uel Cunningham, Marshall Craig and Greame Morrison, all 3 riders completed the 108 mile run.

This Thursday in Ballymoney Town Centre there will be a Criterium (Town Centre Racing) with races for U12, 14 and 16’s as well as Masters, A4 and the final race the A race.

Start at 7pm to 9pm inHigh St, Church St, Victoria St circuit.