Ballymoney & Coleraine District Snooker League update

editorial image

The Ballymoney & Coleraine District Snooker League has entered the part of the season where various trophies are up for grabs.

Outside of the league campaign itself, the teams are battling out for cups which include the Tracey McAuley Memorial Cup and the S Walker Cup.

Daniel McAuley’s Eagle Potters have reached the final of the McAuley Cup, with Ballymoney Legion securing their place in the final of the Walker Cup.

Both teams anxiously await the conclusion of the other semi finals to establish their opponents.

However, there is no doubt that the individual trophies are also highly sought after, and both the League Individuals and the Nevin Cup have attracted a strong entry. The draw for both of these competitions have been done by the new tournament director, Raymond Baxter, and have thrown up some intriguing ties.

The league individuals appear to have thrown up a number of very interesting ties with arguably the pick of these being Lee Hull vs Dixie Tweed, two very good match players on the day, with little between them on the handicap.

Young Adam Freeburn has been in good form recently and he has drawn James Nesbitt. James will have to be at his very best as he gives Freeburn a 35 point start in each frame.

Another man who is receiving a generous start is Ivan Boreland as he comes up against Dunloy captain Martin Crawley. This will, no doubt, prove to be a very cagey affair.

League Individuals – 1st round full draw (League handicaps apply)

Travis Walker vs Sammy Walker

Mal Irwin vs Alan Loughrey

Ady Toner vs Darren Morrow

Len McConaghie vs Daniel McAuley

Ivor Jamieson vs Gregory Cooke

Davy Moore vs Ricky Close

Ivan Boreland vs Martin Crawley

Corey Sweeney vs Vincent Graham

Lee Hull vs Dixie Tweed

Ady McGonigle vs Willie Eakin

Walter Purcell vs Ray Baxter

Ady Boreland vs Sean McDermott

Curtis Boreland vs Shaw Williamson

Carlos Wilson vs Geoff Boreland

Adam Freeburn vs James Nesbitt

Andy McMullan vs Chris Boreland

All matches are the best of five and are to be played in Potters Snooker Club, Coleraine, unless otherwise agreed with the tournament director.

The £5 Entry fee is to be paid before first match is played.

The deadline for these matches is Friday 29th January 2016.