Volunteers recognised

Share this article

AWARDS ceremonies have been held in Ballymoney and Moyle to recognise volunteers for their valuable contribution to volunteering and helping others in the district.

Causeway Volunteer Centre organised the events during Volunteer’s Week with support from Ballymoney Community Resource Centre. Mayor Cllr Ian Stephenson presented Award certificates in Ballymnoney while Moyle chair, Paudie McShane, performed the ceremony at Sheskburn.

Both Councillor Stevenson and Councillor McShane said the areas were proud of their volunteers and the essential work

and commitment that they show without complaint…

Causeway Volunteer Centre Manager Marie-Louise McClarey emphasised the importance of volunteering for health reasons, social networking benefit, experience for your CV and career as well as a great incentive to getting you out of the house. She went on to recognise the value of our local volunteers and called out all the nominations and Award winners for Moyle District as listed below:


EU Volunteer Recognition Award Winners 2011

Fab Femme Womens Group Sharon Roulston

Ballymoney Community Resource Centre Rock School Alan McCandless

Dervock Community Association Frankie Cunningham

Ballymoney Evergreen Club Isobel Fleming Isobel Dunlop

Women’s Resource Centre, Fab Femme & Ballymoney Community Resource Centre Mary McCusker

Ulster Cancer Foundation Elizabeth Cunningham

Cloughmills Community Action Team Patrick Frew Mary Hegarty

Causeway Judo Club Alan Ashcroft

Northern Ireland Hospice George McIntyre

Home-Start Causeway Ann McConville Kathleen Millar Sylvia Acheson

WAVE Trauma Centre Eithne Fleming Martin Boyle Louise Workman Laoiseach McGarry Hilary McNeill Sandra Riddell Elaine McKee

Dunloy Development Association Mary ElliottJean McGarry Mary McLean Elizabeth Boyle Walter Lewis Jimmy Crawley Donna McLaughlin


EU Volunteer Recognition

Award Winners 2011

Bushmills Community Association/THI Mary Anderson

The Base, Ballycastle Patricia Cunning

Moyle Twinning Association Margaret Gault

Marie-Curie Cancer Care/Moyle & District Fundraising Support Group Stanley Jamieson Fiona Jamieson

When Mary McCaughan-Brown (Posthumous)

Ballycastle Credit Union Ltd Board of Directors / Supervisors Sean McQuillan Thelma McMullan Mary Kelly-Dodds Norman Dodds Seamus Walsh Sarah McQuillan William McCann Danny Maguire Desmond Elliot Margaret McCollum Liam McMullan Mick Colgan Joe McGarry

Siobhan McAfee

First Antrim Scout Group Elaine McGowan Frances McToal Gerard Dallas Carol Warren Eileen McCurdy

Bushmills Presbyterian Church /private Rachael Todd

Ballycastle Fundraising Group Elizabeth White

Moyle Gateway James McVicker Joanne Quinn Dorothy (Dotty) NichollUna McCambridge

Ballintoy & District Community Assoc/ Ballintoy Young at Hearts Club

Margaret Reid Moyle Community Safety Wardens Siobhan McPeake Aisling McBrearty Bridgeen Nevin

Cushendall Sailing Club Tim Hopkins Barry Emerson

Heart of the Glens Festival/Glens Vintage Club

Susan McLaughlin

Glenariffe Development Group Anne Harvey

St Vincent de Paul Ballycastle Brian Duffin

Mosside GB Agnes White

Good Morning Ballycastle Ann Matthews Bridie O’NeillCaroline McCaughan Dibbie McCaughan Don Fielding Eileen Brogan Ferne Houston Heather Page Joan Quigg Kathleen Gillan Katie Fielding Lorraine McConaghy Marie Bell Marion Fraser Mary OConnor Michael Page Minnie Kane Moira McCarry Roberta McBride Sheila Blane Susan McMaster Thelma Dillon Una Campbell Valerie Nicholl Vera Cullen Maeve Walsh Olive Bell

Anyone wishing to find out about these organisations and other volunteering roles contact Causeway Volunteer Centre tel: 028 7035 8285

Email: info@causewayvc.org or check the website: www.causewayvc.org