Northern Ireland MP of year award for Paisley

editorial image

North Antrim MP Ian Paisley was awarded the Northern Ireland MP of the Year Award at the Political and Public Life Awards held in Westminster.

The ceremony, sponsored by Asian Voice was hosted by Keith Vaz MP in Westminster. MPs were nominated by readers of Asian Voice,

The award was presented to the MP by the Leader of the House of Commons the Rt Hon. William Hague MP.

The Political and Public Life Awards, now in their ninth year, are to recognise outstanding contributions by both politicians at all levels of governance as well as those who have excelled in their careers in the public eye.

Previous winners have included the Prime Minister David Cameron MP as Politician of the Year, X-Factor winner Sam Bailey as Breakthrough Woman of the Year as well as Civil Rights Leader Reverend Jesse Jackson and News Anchor Moira Stuart who were both awarded Lifetime Achievement Awards.

Speaking after receiving his award the MP commented: “I’m extremely humbled to receive such an award, especially as it was voted on by members of the public. We as Northern Ireland MPs face challenges that the rest of the House wouldn’t be familiar with given our recent past. To be recognised in this capacity is something I cherish greatly.”