New Year ploughing match held

editorial image

Ballycastle and District Tractor Ploughing Society held their annual Ploughing Match on New Year’s Day on lands at Macnaghten Farm, Bushmills, kindly granted.

A spokesperson said: “The morning was clear with a little frost. Conditions were excellent, after all the rain it was unbelievable that all the lorries, tractors and cars could be parked in the field – had we been anywhere else no match would have been possible and our thanks must go to the Macnaghten family and Mr Ian Chapman the estate manager.

“Our thanks to the PSNI for their co-operation and help. To the ladies who provided the food to the ploughmen and spectators many thanks.

“It was much appreciated on a cold day. Thanks are also expressed to the ploughmen who braved the elements to attend the match. We are also indebted to the sponsors for their generosity to the Society without whose financial help no match would be possible.

To the judges Messrs L McMillan, W King, D Wallace, G Murphy, H Simms, W Hood, T McCracken, J Sloan and D Percy we extend a special word of thanks for giving of their time and expertise to help us out on the day.

“We now have a very small committee but they deserve a lot of thanks for preparing the site and conducting the match so efficiently, also thanks to the spectators who came to watch we were delighted to see you and hope you enjoyed your day.”


Class 1 – 12” World Style sponsored by Robinson Concrete

1st G Simms

2nd A McAnally

3rd M Simms

4th= R Crawford B O’Neill

Class 2 – 12” World Style Confined sponsored by Chambers Concrete Products

1st T Stewart

Class 4 – Reversible sponsored by J Laverty & Son, Armoy

1st A Jamison

2nd D Wright

3rd J Coulter

4th D Jamison

Class 5 - Vintage Intermediate sponsored by Chestnutt Animal Feeds, Stranocum

1st R Jenkins

2nd J Williamson

3rd S Weatherup

4th W Steenson

Class 6 – Vintage Lift sponsored by Origin (IAWS)

1ST J Adair

2nd F Davidson

3rd E Murphy

4th R Acheson

5th A Simms

Class 7 – Vintage Trail sponsored by Donnelly and Taggart

1st W Scott

2nd D Gratton

Special prizes

The Andrew Jamison Cup – Best work by Massey Ferguson Tractor – Rodney Crawford.

The John McElderry Cup – The most original vintage tractor – David Gratton.

The JW McCaughan Cup – The youngest ploughmen – David Jamison.

The Hugh Lynn Memorial Cup - Best work by a member of Ballycastle Ploughing Society – Adrian Jamison.

The RH Boyd & Sons Cup – The best butts in Class 4 Reversible – Adrian Jamison.

The Richard Pinkerton Cup – The best work under 25 years – David Jamison.

The Hunter Kane and Son Cup – Best work with a KV Plough – Adrian

Best openings, best back, best finish, best ins and outs – Gary Simms.

The Robert Huey Memorial Cup – Vintage Champion – Neil Scott.

The Frank McCaughan & Son Cup – Runnerup to the Champion – Gary Simms.

The Ballycastle & District Tractor Ploughing Society Cup for the Champion of the Field – Adrian Jamison.