New ‘super’ council elected

Polling station at Stranocum. INBM22-14
Polling station at Stranocum. INBM22-14

The votes are all now cast and counted and the 40 members of the new Causeway Coast and Glens “super” Council have now been elected.

Current Mayor of Ballymoney Council, John Finlay of the DUP, made a little bit of political history in the area by becoming the first member elected to the new Council, which will come into being next year in 2015.

Former chair of Moyle District Council, Cllr Sandra Hunter of the Ulster Unionist Party, became the first female councillor to be elected to the new super Council.

Turn out at the ballot boxes was poor with many candidates expressing their concern at figures, such as only 49% of eligible voters turning out in Ballymoney District Electoral Area (DEA) and only 45% casting their votes in Causeway.

And, as in all elections, there were shock results.

Bill Kennedy, standing for the DUP in Causeway DEA, failed to be elected, as did his party colleague Evelyne Robinson who was standing in the Glens DEA.

There was surprise too in the Glens DEA when sitting councillors Donal Cunningham from the SDLP and Sinn Fein’s Colum Thompson failed to secure seats in the new Council.

Turn now to page 14 for full elction coverage.