Forty-four lodges for local Twelfth

Forty four lodges from five districts – Bushmills, Ballycastle, Cloughmills, Rasharkin and Ballymoney – will take part in the North Antrim demonstratio.

The parade is held in Ballycastle every five years. Orangemen and bands will assemble at the Ramoan Playing Fields and move off at 1.00pm.

The parade will be led by Stranocum LOL 749 who will be celebrating their 200th anniversary during 2011 and will have on show their new banner which was unfurled on June 23, by the Grand Master of the Grand Orange Lodge of Ireland, Edward Stevenson. Stranocum Flute Band will provide the music at the front of the parade.

The outward parade route will be via Ramoan Road, Church Road, Coleraine Road, Castle Street, The Diamond, Ann Street, Rathlin Road, Strandview Road, North Street, Quay Road, Quay Road Playing Fields.

A religious service will be held at 3pm and the sermon will be given by Rev. David McCarthy. The Grand Secretary of the Grand Orange Lodge of Ireland, Drew Nelson will give the address and the resolutions will be proposed by Stephen Anderson, WDM, Cloughmills District, Ivan Watson, WDM, Rasharkin District and William Archibald, WDM, Ballymoney District.

The platform chairman will be William Johnston, WDM Ballycastle District.

The parade will leave the Demonstration field at 4.30pm and return via Quay Road Playing Fields, The Diamond, Market Street and Ramoan Road. At the junction of Ramoan Road and Church Road, the first three districts in the parade, Cloughmills, Rasharkina nd Ballymoney, will proceed along Church Road and Moyarget Road to their buses. Bushmills and Ballycastle districts will parade directly into Novally Road where their buses will be waiting. Ballycastle District LOL 23 are producing a badge to commemorate this year’s North Antrim Twelfth.