Recognition for Ballycastle teacher with Lifetime Achievement Award

Ballycastle teacher, Michael Dallat from Cross and Passion College, was recently presented with the Ted Wragg Award for Lifetime Achievement. Mr Dallat, a mathematics teacher at Cross and Passion College, was nominated by his upper sixth class with endorsements from colleagues both past and present, as well as the local sporting and business community.

Speaking about the award Mr Dallat said,

“I feel very privileged and honoured to be the recipient of such a prestigious award, not only for myself but for my family and the whole school community who have always been so supportive of me. The number of congratulations I have received has been overwhelming. The UK finals will afford me the opportunity to rub shoulders with other regional recipients, who obviously get the same buzz from teaching as I do.”

Principal Barbara Ward added, “Michael Dallat is a man with a simple mission in his professional life to provide the best for, and get the best from, every pupil with whom he works and who attends Cross and Passion College. He believes passionately in the difference education can make to young people as individuals, to their family lives and to the local community.”

“Michael’s passion and enthusiasm, for education in general and for Cross and Passion in particular, continues to grow and this, in combination with his vast experience, sense of humour, energy, ability and vision has made his contribution to this school over a lifetime truly amazing. His boundless energy comes from his passion and absolute enjoyment in what he does. It is a privilege to work with him and I am delighted that he has won this award for Lifetime Achievement.”

Michael has now secured his place to go through to the National Teaching Award finals.

Caroline Evans, chief executive of the Pearson Teaching Awards, said “We believe it is vital to recognise inspirational teachers for their commitment to teaching and learning and improving the life chances of the next generation”.

The Award finals to be held on Sunday 30 October, 2011 at a central London theatre and broadcast later that day on BBC2.