Dalriada delight as Rebecca scoops prize

Several Year 10 pupils in Dalriada School were celebrating success last week. At the end of June the whole year group entered a UK-wide competition: The School’s Bible Project Competition. This competition has been running for over a decade and receives thousands of essay entries each year from students throughout the UK.

Over the past few years the Religious Studies department has celebrated a great deal of success in this competitionand this year’s entries were particularly successful, with more pupils having their work recognised by the organisers than ever before. In total, 41 students were awarded prizes – a great achievement!

One of the students, Rebecca McAuley, won joint THIRD PRIZE, with 40 other pupils also being presented with prizes, recognising the very high standard of their work.

The School’s Bible Project Competition aims to encourage students to encounter the New Testament and do some creative writing based on what they have learned.

Students were asked to write an account of ‘The women find the empty tomb’ from an eye-witness perspective. This year the judges have once again noted that many of the pupils from Dalriada produced an essay of an extremely high standard, showing a thoughtful and reflective understanding of Christ, and the significance of his death and resurrection. Rebecca has won a cash prize for the school and a Bible and personal prize for herself. These prizes will be presented at a ceremony in London in December and expenses will be covered for Lucy and a parent and teacher to accompany her.

Special Merit Prizes: Toby Treagear, Reanna Craig, Peter Forde, Andrew Hutchinson, Tara McConaghie, Hannah McCurdy, Peter Minihan, Judith Campbell, Jack Currie, Laura Henry, Caitlin McCormick, Caitlin Buick, Sarah Gordon, Joseph Hasson, Rebecca Mitchell, Megan Scott, Nathanael Winchborne, Paulina Marszalek, Megan McBurney, Eve Taggart, Jonathan Waide, Kyle Watton and Louise Wilson

Merit Prizes: Matthew Armstrong, Eva McBride, Joel McCormick, Amy McKelvey, Beth Neely, Niamh Waddell, Jonathan Witherow, Jack Yates, Thomas Dysart, Peter Emerson, Lauren Gibson, Colin Henry, Sara Jamison, Jessica Johnston, Ben Kidd, Michelle Ko and David Laverty