Curtains down for Festival

editorial image

The 78th Ballymoney Drama Festival came to a close on Saturday, March 11 with the final adjudication by Mr Chris Jaeger MBE GODA.

For seven nights of the festival an appreciative audience were treated to a varied selection of interesting plays.

Mr Jaeger complimented all the groups on their excellent productions and on the high level of acting skills. He stated that this was one of the best and most enjoyable festivals that he had ever to adjudicate in his career.

The officials and members of Ballymoney Drama Festival are most grateful for the financial support given to the Festival by all our sponsors.

The full results of the Drama festival are as follows:

Committee Cup for Overall Winner: Bangor Drama Group- Lovers

Lord Antrim Cup Best Comedy / Farce – Lifford Players -Abigail’s Party

Route Cup for Best Actor: Michael Ievers for his performance as Andy in Bangor Drama Group’s production of Lovers

Dalriada Cup for Best Actress: Heidi McKee for her performance as Millie in the Clarence Players’ production of The Mai

Tom Dale Trophy for Best Supporting Actor: Adrian Cooke for his performance as Lloyd in Rosemary Drama Group’s production of Blue Stockings

Tom Dale Trophy for Best Supporting Actress: Shaunagh McKirgan for her performance as Julie in The Clarence Players’ production of The Mai

Vin Smyth Memorial Trophy for Best Producer: Carole Stewart – The Clarence Players – The Mai

Malachy McLaughlin Cup for Stage Lighting: Holywood Players – Humble Boy

Wreath Cup for Most Ambitious Choice of Play: Rosemary Drama Group – Blue Stockings

O’Cahan Cup for Décor: Holywood Players – Humble Boy

Edmund Gordon Memorial Trophy for Best Moment of Theatre: Theatre 3, Newtownabbey, - Heroes

Friers Trophy for Décor: Rosemary Drama Group – Blue Stockings

Certificates of Merit awarded to the following:

Lifford Players (Décor)

Anne Nixon, Holywood Players (Acting)

Claire Turtle, Lifford Players (Acting)

Dorothy Wylie, The Clarence Players (Acting)

Cathy Ievers, Bangor Drama Group (Acting)

James Cameron, Bangor Drama Group (Acting)

Donal McReynolds, The Bart Players (Acting)

Edward Flanagan, Lifford Players (Acting)

Michael Ievers & Aileen Tyney, Bangor Drama Group (Direction)

Holywood Players (Best Moment of Theatre)

Overall Placings: Bangor Drama Group, The Clarence Players, The Bart Players and Lifford Players.