Ballymoney nurse is the ‘patient’s choice’ at Nurse of the Year Awards

Share this article

Loreena Hill from Ballymoney has won the Patient’s Choice Award, sponsored by GlaxoSmithKline, at the RCN Northern Ireland Nurse of the Year Awards 2011. Organised by the Royal College of Nursing, this is the fifteenth year of the awards which were held on Thursday 9 June at the Culloden Hotel, Holywood.

Loreena is a heart failure nurse specialist based at the Royal Group of Hospitals in the Belfast Trust. Nominated by the daughter of a cardiology patient with complex health issues, her nominator said: ““Loreena is unfailingly kind and professional. She demonstrates the importance of dignity and respect to an older person and these are in evidence when she treats my mother. As a result my mother has complete confidence in Loreena and will always comply with her treatment and advice. During times of stress and concern Loreena is always available for advice or reassurance. This aspect of her caring and compassionate role is invaluable and has been a great source of comfort. Loreena is an example of how health care professionals can make such a difference in people’s lives.”

Commenting on the Awards, RCN Northern Ireland Director Janice Smyth said: “Congratulations to all of these nurses on their considerable achievements.

“During these times of challenge and increased pressure on the system, I am hugely encouraged at the work undertaken by nurses throughout Northern Ireland and the difference this is making to improving services and patient care.

“Nurses are often described as the glue that keeps the health service together, however, this is a perfect example of how nurses are in a position to see where making changes can contribute to a more efficient and better service for patients.”

The overall title of RCN Northern Ireland Nurse of the Year 2011 went to Pauline Haslett. Pauline, who is live donor transplant co-ordinator in the Belfast Trust, fought off competition from six other finalists to receive the award for transforming the live donor service in Northern Ireland. She was presented with the accolade by new Minister for Health, Social Services and Public Safety, Edwin Poots.