Ballycastle Horse Ploughing Society annual dinner

BALLYCASTLE Horse Ploughing Society held their annual dinner and presentation of prizes in Hunter’s Bar, Ballyvoy, on Friday.

The event was well attended with enthusiasts giving full support on a night when many reflected on the poor weather conditions they had to endure during the competition and the subsequent postponement of the first planned dinner.

Indeed, the organisers emphasised their thanks to competitors, judges and spectators for braving the weather during the annual match on March 18.

The donors of the field, Mr. Colm McHenry and Mr. Samuel Glass, were thanked for the use of land and Ramoan Ladies who provided their much appreciated stew and tea to warm up everyone on the day.

Thanks were also extended to Seamus Black for putting his premises at the disposal of the Society to facilitate car parking and also for lorries. Finally, to the men who took care of the car parking and anyone who helped in any way to make the match a success.

The sponsors were also praised for their generous donations.


New Cup presented by Danny McAllister and Son, Armoy Livestock Mart – 1, Jim Elliott; 2, Declan McCaughan.

Class 2 – Wholework (New Cup presented by Donal McAllister) – 1, Danny Matthews.

Class 3 – Everyday Work, Standard Board Cup presented by Gerard Cassley – 1, Sean Cassley; 2, Victor Scott; 3, Jim Kane, Wesley Henry; 5, Declan Ferris.

Class 4 – Everyday Work Turned Board Cup presented by Ballycastle HPS – 1, Gerard McCarry.

Class 5 – Single Horse Class Cup presented by The McKay Bros – 1, Paddy McKendry; 2, Robert Murphy; 3, Gerard McIlroy; 4,Sonia Serrania; 5, John Weir.

Best back and best hint in Swing Class – Jim Elliot.

Best back and hint in Wholework class – Danny Matthews.

Best back and hint in Everyday Work,Standard Board – Sean Cassley.

Best back and hint in Turned Board – Gerard McCarry.

Best Work by a member of the Ballycastle H.P.S. (The Paddy McKiernan Memorial Cup) – Danny Matthers.

Best Ploughing team – Wesley Henry.

Youngest Ploughman (The Kilrea Livestock Cup) – Declan Ferris.

Oldest Ploughman (The Liam McCullough Cup) – Paddy McKendry.

First time ploughing in Ballycastle (The Brian Boyle Cup) – Declan McCaughan.

Junior Section: 1, Declan McCaughan; 2, Gerard McIlroy; 3, Sonia Serrania; 4, Jim Kane; 5, John Weir.

Champion of Field (New cup presented by Danny Matthews) – Jim Elliot.

Reserve champion (The Brian Boyle Memorial Trophy) – Danny Matthews.

Turnout style and appearance, Clydesdales (The Patricia McCaughan Memorial Cup) – 1, Wesley Henry; 2, Jim Kane; 3, Victor Scott.

Turout Cob Sectgion (New Cup presented by North Antrim Country Stores) – 1, Declan Ferris; 2, Jim Elliot; 3, Danny Matthews.