Assembly Elections 2016: First results in North Antrim

editorial image

No one has been elected on the first count in North Antrim.

Fifteen candidates are standing for six seats in the constituency but none reached the quota (5857) in the first count.

Two candidates, Kathryn Johnston (NI Labour Representation Committee) and James Simpson (Conservative Party) were eliminated.

The results were:

DUP - Paul Frew (5429), Phillip Logan (3635), David McIlveen (3209), and Mervyn Storey (5382).

UUP - Robin Swann (3585) and Andrew Wright (821).

TUV - Jim Allister (5399) and Timothy Gaston (1955).

SDLP - Connor Duncan (3093).

SF - Daithi McKay (5297).

Green Party -Jennifer Breslin (513).

Conservative Party - James Simpson (92).

NI Labour Representation Committee - Kathryn Johnston (243).

UKIP - Donna Anderson (1027).

Alliance Stephen McFarland (1318).

Votes polled in North Antrim were 41,464 (turnout 52.93%). The number of valid votes were 40998.